Visit Pensacola

Naples Sabot Senior Nationals: From 18 to 88 Years

Published on June 7th, 2015

The 2015 Naples Sabot Senior and Masters Nationals was enjoyed by forty-six adult racers, ages 18 to 88 years old, on June 7-8. They represented eight yacht clubs, from Santa Barbara to San Diego as well as the host club, Alamitos Bay Yacht Club. The first class champion won in 1959, so the fleet has a long and illustrious history. The International Naples Sabot Association sponsors these regattas every year with the host club rotating among five yacht clubs.

The Grand Master Class raced only on Saturday, June 7. Four competitors over 65 years of age entered. Two of the racers are over 85. They completed three races, followed by refreshments and the trophy presentation. John Ellis of ABYC placed first and will have his name engraved on the Perpetual trophy. In second place was Lanny Coon of Mission Bay Yacht Club.

Mark Gaudio of Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club was again successful in winning in the Senior Division with fifteen competitors. Placing second was Jim Otis of ABYC, followed by Eric Heim of San Diego Yacht Club in third. It should be noted that both Mark Gaudio and Jim Otis won the Jr. Masters earlier in their Sabot careers. Matthew McDermaid of the host club placed fourth with Freddie Stevens in Fifth. In the Clydesdale Class for racers weighing over 200 pounds, the winner was Matthew’s father, Jeff McDermaid also of ABYC.

The largest class, with 16 racers, was the Master Gold Fleet division for racers over 40 years of age. Placing first was Robin Townsend of ABYC who also won in 1998. Second place was Danny North of San Diego Yacht Club who was Junior Champion in 1975. In third, was Fred Stevens of ABYC, in fourth Scott Finkboner of MBYC, in fifth, Dick Denzler of SDYC.

In the Masters Silver Fleet, nine racers participated, racing five races over the two days. When the winds gusted above 18 knots, they made an excellent decision to avoid the dangerous winds and chop and stop at five races. From the host club, Kathy Weishampel, with four first place wins, was the winner and will have her name on the Perpetual trophy. In second was Roberta Hunt, SDYC, with Dana Fischbeck from Newport Harbor Yacht Club in third. In fourth was Dee Van Horne while Darin Hayden was in fifth, both of SDYC.

Complete results are available at


Report by Todd Smith.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.