Finals set for U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship

Published on June 20th, 2015

Corona del Mar, CA (June 20, 2015) – It was an action packed Saturday off the coast Newport Beach today as the 12 teams competing at the U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship got a full day of racing in. The table has been set for Sunday’s final series. The Balboa Yacht Club will defend the Rose Cup against the team from the San Diego Yacht Club in Sunday’s final.

The defending champions from Balboa Yacht Club (Calif.), Christophe Killian, Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin were defeated just once through 11 flights in the Robin Robin stage to take the number one seed into the quarterfinals. They dispatched of the team skippered by William Curtiss from the Chicago Yacht Club (Ill.), 2-0. They went on to defeat skipper Nicolas Sertl of the Rochester Yacht Club (N.Y.), 2-0, in the semifinal.

The San Diego Yacht Club’s (Calif.) Scott Sinks, Andy Reiter and Storm Brown edged skipper Christopher Weis of Del Rey Yacht Club (Calif.), 2-1, to earn the right to challenge Killian on Sunday. Sinks was 8-3 in the Round Robin stage. They defeated skipper Sean Cornell of Centerpointe Yacht Club (N.Y.), 2-0, in the quarterfinal.

Complete StandingsEvent details

Competitors List with Sail Numbers:
(4) Jack Barton, skipper, Sammy Shea and Jackson Ritter – San Francisco YC, CA
(9) Sean Cornell, skipper, Scott Ewing and Peter Sterflinger – Centerpointe YC, NY
(6) William Curtiss, skipper, Colin Richards and Mark Davis – Chicago YC, IL
(3) Colin Kennedy, skipper, Alec Caterson and Austin Colpaert – Oakcliff SC, NY
(7) Christophe Killian, skipper, Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin – Balboa YC, CA
(10) Jack Parkin, skipper, Wiley Rogers, Max Brill and Sean Walsh – Riverside YC, CT
(12) Nicolas Serti, skipper, Hugh McGillivray, and Peter McMilan – Rochester YC, NY
(5) Scott Sinks, skipper, Andy Reiter and Storm Brown – San Diego YC, CA
(11) Jack Thompson, skipper, Wells Drayton and Robert Garrett – Newport Harbor YC, CA
(1) Conrad Vandlik, skipper, Carl Eaton, Jackson Connell and Ashley Huynh – Minnetonka YC, MN
(8) Christopher Weils, skipper, Roberto Stevens and Alex Burrow – Del Rey YC, CA
(2) Dane Wilson, skipper, Soren Wilde and Cuyler Zimmerman – Santa Barbara YC, CA

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.