Christophe Killian repeats as US Youth Match Racing Champion

Published on June 21st, 2015

Corona del Mar, CA (June 21, 2015) – After three days of racing off Newport Beach in the sun-splashed Pacific Ocean, the home team from Balboa Yacht Club triumphed over San Diego Yacht Club to win the 2015 U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship for the second consecutive year.

Christophe Killian (Newport Beach, Calif.), Harrison Vandervort (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Jack Martin (Newport Beach, Calif.) won Sunday’s final series, 2-0, over Scott Sinks (San Diego, Calif.), Andy Reiter (San Diego, Calif.) and Storm Brown (San Diego, Calif.).

With the win, Killian qualifies for the Oakcliff Sailing (NY) Halloween Invitational in Match 40s on October 30 to November 1, 2015. Skippers Killian, Sinks and third place finisher Christopher Weis of Del Rey Yacht Club will receive an automatic invitation to the 49th annual Governor’s Cup to be held at Balboa Yacht Club on July 20-25, 2015.

Final Standings (Top 6 of 12 teams)

1. Christophe Killian
2. Scott Sinks
3. Christopher Weis
4. Nicholas Sertl
5. Jack Parkin
6. Sean Cornell

Complete StandingsEvent details

Competitors List with Sail Numbers:
(4) Jack Barton, skipper, Sammy Shea and Jackson Ritter – San Francisco YC, CA
(9) Sean Cornell, skipper, Scott Ewing and Peter Sterflinger – Centerpointe YC, NY
(6) William Curtiss, skipper, Colin Richards and Mark Davis – Chicago YC, IL
(3) Colin Kennedy, skipper, Alec Caterson and Austin Colpaert – Oakcliff SC, NY
(7) Christophe Killian, skipper, Harrison Vandervort and Jack Martin – Balboa YC, CA
(10) Jack Parkin, skipper, Wiley Rogers, Max Brill and Sean Walsh – Riverside YC, CT
(12) Nicolas Serti, skipper, Hugh McGillivray, and Peter McMilan – Rochester YC, NY
(5) Scott Sinks, skipper, Andy Reiter and Storm Brown – San Diego YC, CA
(11) Jack Thompson, skipper, Wells Drayton and Robert Garrett – Newport Harbor YC, CA
(1) Conrad Vandlik, skipper, Carl Eaton, Jackson Connell and Ashley Huynh – Minnetonka YC, MN
(8) Christopher Weils, skipper, Roberto Stevens and Alex Burrow – Del Rey YC, CA
(2) Dane Wilson, skipper, Soren Wilde and Cuyler Zimmerman – Santa Barbara YC, CA

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.