What is the Conch Republic Cup?

Published on August 21st, 2015

The Conch Republic Cup is none other than the 8th Edition of Key West-Cuba Race Week. For the first time in history, American sailors can now have a blast sailing 90nm from Key West to Cuba and enjoy several days of sailing in just the most stupendously beautiful, unspoiled, Caribbean waters you will ever see.

Plus, for those sailors “in the know”, namely Europeans, South Americans, and some Americans, the Cuban sailors sure know how to host and throw a party! The Commodore of Club Nautico de Havana, Jose Miguel Diaz Escrich, is extending a warm welcome to all that can make it to Marina Hemingway this year!

The event is scheduled right after 2016 Quantum Key West Race Week finishes in the end of January. Boats that are planning to continue their Florida winter getaway can add this one to their “bucket list” of fabulous regatta itineraries. And, for those boats contemplating heading further east into the Caribbean for the sextet of famous winter regattas (RORC 600, St Maarten, St Thomas, BVI, St Barths, Antigua), this week would be a natural one to start the winter-long celebration of fun-in-the-sun! Here is the current schedule of five (5) races total:

Jan 27- Wednesday- Captains Meeting and party at Key West
Jan 28- Thursday- Key West to Veradero, Cuba Race
Jan 29- Friday- Veradero Awards and party
Jan 30- Saturday- free day
Jan 31- Sunday- Veradero Offshore buoy race- Awards/ party after
Feb 1- Monday- Veradero to Havana Race- Marina Hemingway
Feb 2- Tuesday- free day
Feb 3- Wednesday- Havana’s El Malecon Parade Race- awards/party @ Marina Hemingway
Feb 4- Thursday- free day
Feb 5- Friday- Havana to Key West Race
Feb 6- Saturday- Key West awards/ party

For additional information, contact Peter Goldsmith at 305-304-4582 or Jeff@MainsailNews.TV.

Event websiteFacebook page

Source: J/Newsletter

Tags: ,



Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.