What Is The Best Sailing Photo in 2015?

Published on November 1st, 2015

The world’s greatest marine and yacht racing photographers have entered this year’s international Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image contest and voting is open to the public. The winning image and its photographer will be celebrated at the Yacht Racing Forum in Geneva on December 8.

Sailing and photography enthusiasts from around the world are invited to vote for this year’s Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image. Voting is done by Facebook: CLICK HERE

Note: Currently the voting platform is in French. The translation to English is ‘J’aime’ (Like) and ‘Partager’ (Share).

The contest is open to professional photographers from all over the world. No less than 135 professional photographers from 29 different countries entered. From these submissions, the best 80 photos of 2015 are now available to view and to be voted for.

Started in 2010, the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Award is the world’s premier photography competition dedicated to the sport of sailing, celebrating the very best yacht racing image taken during the year, and which best represents the essence and excitement of the sport.

Two prizes will be awarded on 8 December in Geneva at the Yacht Racing Forum:
♦ The Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image (main prize), awarded by an independent international jury that includes, Dawn Riley (America’s Cup and Whitbread Round the World Race veteran, from America), Antonio Palma (CEO, Mirabaud & Cie SA, from Switzerland), Richard Gladwell (journalist, Sail-World.com, from New Zealand), Vincent Steinmann (Director of Marketing and Communication, Zenith Watches, from Switzerland) and Alfred Farré (winner of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2014, from Spain).

♦ The Audience Prize, awarded based on the online public vote (voting open until December 1) and the delegates of the Yacht Racing Forum.

The winners will share a purse of 2,000 Euros. The winner of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image will also receive a Zenith Chronomaster El Primero 1969 watch.

Contest website: www.yachtracingimage.com/gallery/contest-2015



2014 Winner: Alfred Farré

14/09/2013 - San Francisco (USA CA) - 34th America's Cup -

2013 Winner: Abner Kingman

GBR 112; NILAYA; Owner: Filip Balcaen; Category: Supermaxi ; Type: 34.01

2012 Winner: Kurt Arrigo

11_02113b ©ThMartinez/Sea&Co. BELMONT - NEW SOUTH WALES. AUSTRALIA . 13 January 2011. DAY 5. 2nd finals day. Windy day. NATHAN OUTTERIDGE (AUS 3750 ) falling off his boat in race 4 of finals.

2011 Winner: Thierry Martinez


2010 Winner: Thierry Martinez


comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.