Wilson Tops Grade 3 Match Race Invitational

Published on June 26th, 2016

Chicago Yacht Club and Chicago Match Race Center hosted the Grade 3 Chicago Summer Invitational on June 25-26 at Belmont Station in Chicago, IL.

The regatta, which featured ten skippers from four countries, was won by Don Wilson with Tod Reynolds and Keith Swinton as crew. Wilson bested Steve Lowery and his team of Rory Lewis and Maurin Lovera in a sudden-death Final Series. In third place, defending US Women’s Match Racing Champion, Nicole Breault, sailed with Molly Carapiet, Karen Loutzenheiser, and Nolan Van Dine.

This event served as a qualifier for five events: Open and Women’s US Match Racing Championships; the Richardson Trophy and two US Grand Slam Stops; Chicago and Detroit Cup. Wilson’s victory also earned him the title of Lake Michigan Sail Racing Federation Match Racing Champion.

Using Chicago Yacht Club’s Sonars, the round robin was sailed on Day One in perfect match racing conditions, a 10-knot Southerly breeze with sunshine and stable wind. After twelve flights, the scores were tight at the top, with places 1st-3rd tied on seven points and 4th & 5th tied with six points.

Sailors were greeted on Day Two by thunderstorms and a dismal forecast for un-sailable conditions. Nonetheless, the RC made the best of the breeze in the morning and nearly completed the Quarter-Finals. After a large rain cell moved through, the RC rearranged the course several times and the breeze pulsed in and out.

At 3 PM, race officials were forced to either squeeze in three abbreviated knock-out stages or terminate racing for the day and let the round robin stand as the final scores. They made the daring decision to shorten the races to one, single windward/leeward lap and push the time limit until the last 30 seconds.

“Hosting a two day match race regatta in unstable, variable conditions is one of the toughest challenges in race management, and the Chicago YC team of staff and volunteers stepped up and did a truly impressive job,” said Tod Reynolds, CMRC Program Director.

Final Results:
1. Don Wilson, Keith Swinton, Tod Reynolds
2. Steve Lowery, Rory Lewis, Maurin Lovera
3. Nicole Breault, Molly Carapiet, Karen Loutzenheiser, and Nolan Van Dine
4. Marc Hollerbach, Nathan Hollerbach and Nico Marcolini
5. Peter Holz, Mike Whitford and Tim Siemers
6. Connor Miller, Ray Groble and Eileen O’Neill
7. David Storrs, Matt Clark and Will Holz
8. Matt Hughes, Alex Burrow and Christopher Weis
9. Landon Gardner, Brandon Townsend, Alex Byczko
10. Mark Davies, Will Davies and Ray Grobl

Event detailsScoreboardFacebook

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.