Visit Pensacola

Vendee Globe Expands Field to 30 Skippers

Published on June 29th, 2016

Les Sables d’Olonne, France (June 29, 2016) – Organisers of the eighth Vendée Globe have increased the entry limit by three extra places on top of the 27 initially planned in the Notice of Race to start the non-stop solo round the world race on November 6.

For logistical reasons in Les Sables d’Olonne, the number of places available on the pontoons in Port Olona) was initially limited to 27 boats. However, race owner wished to open up this limitation and expand the field to all of the 30 skippers that are officially registered for the 2016-2017 Vendée Globe.

Kojiro Shiraishi, Jean-François Pellet, Conrad Colman, and Enda O’Coineen are the first to be affected by today’s announcement by Yves Auvinet, Président de la SAEM Vendée the president of the SAEM Vendée.

“If sailing requirements are met by one or all of the skippers on time, it would seem inconceivable to me not to allow them to line up at the start,” reports Auvinet. “When you see the investment made in preparing for this race, I believe that if all the conditions are met, everyone should have their chance to compete in the Vendée Globe.”

As for the logistical problem limiting the number of places on the pontoon in Port Olona, Auvinet confirmed that a solution has been found. “We have consulted with the Race Directors to ensure that this can be done within the harbour. And that is certainly the case.”

These additional places should allow the next Vendée Globe to become even more international. If all the candidates manage to find their budget and fulfill the administrative and sailing requirements on time, four continents and an unprecedented ten nationalities will be represented: France,Spain, Hungary, the United States, Britain, Switzerland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Japan and Ireland. This will be a first, which is very pleasing news. Another important number.

The 30 skippers officially registered for the moment:
Jérémie Beyou (France), Tanguy de Lamotte (France), Vincent Riou (France), Morgan Lagravière (France), Armel Le Cléac’h (France), Paul Meilhat (France), Sébastien Destremau (France), Eric Bellion (France), Jean-Pierre Dick (France), Fabrice Amedeo (France), Sébastien Josse (France), Yann Eliès (France), Thomas Ruyant (France), Didac Costa (Spain), Kito de Pavant (France), Jean Le Cam (France), Bertrand de Broc (France), Louis Burton (France), Nandor Fa (Hungary), Rich Wilson (USA), Alex Thomson (GB), Arnaud Boissières (France), Alan Roura (Switzerland), Stéphane Le Diraison (France), Pieter Heerema (Netherlands), Romain Attanasio (France), Kojiro Shiraishi (Japan), Conrad Colman (New Zealand), Enda O’Coineen (Ireland) and Jean-François Pellet (France).

Race details:

Source: Vendee Globe

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.