Promoting Women’s Keelboat Competition

Published on October 16th, 2016

Kris Zillmann and her San Diego Yacht Club team won the 25th annual Linda Elisa Memorial Women’s One-Design Challenge, held October 15 and 16 in Long Beach, CA. Zillerman’s crew defeated 10 other West Coast teams on a weekend that brought changeable wind conditions of anywhere between 5 to 16 knots.

“This is my first time driving this boat,” said Zillmann referring to the the Long Beach Sailing Foundation’s fleet of Catalina 37s. “My team was phenomenal in their work and we were able to keep the corners tight and adjusted as best as we could.”

Zillmann’s team was made up of Sandy Vissman, Alli Bell, Amy Lisewski, Alexa Cavalieri, Tiffany Billings, Julie Mitchell, Gigi Mitchell, Stacey Szabo, Kellin Chatfield, and Kirsten Zillmann.

Saturday started off with 5-7 knots, more from the south than Long Beach’s typical southwesterly. But the sailors didn’t have long to wait as by mid-afternoon it clocked hard right with gusts a bit over 16 knots. Sunday was a more typical day with 7-14 knots throughout the day.

Finishing a close second on a tiebreaker was Kayla McComb and her Newport Harbor Yacht Club team. Both McComb and Zillmann were tied at 20 points each at the end of the regatta. But after the tiebreaker was applied—who had the most first place finishes—Zillmann came out on top.

“We had great breeze and getting to work with my team on the water is great,” noted McComb. “This was my first regatta driving a keel boat and we had a lot of fun. We’re looking forward to more women’s regattas in California.”

Third place went to Vicki Sodaro and her San Francisco Yacht Club team. “It’s fun to do and we try to race it as a yacht club<‘ shared Sodaro. “As a matter of fact, our club has already put this in the budget for next year!”

Zillmann was awarded the perpetual Linda Elias Memorial Women’s One-Design Challenge trophy, donated by Al and Vicki Shultz and the Catalina 37 Women’s One-Design Challenge, LB/LA Women’s Sailing Association trophy. She also received a $1,000 scholarship check from the Linda Elias Sailing Scholarship.

The Women’s One-Design event began 25 years ago and Linda Elias—the namesake for the current regatta—won the championship three of the first five years. Elias passed away in 2003 and the Long Beach/Los Angeles Women’s Sailing Association rededicated the event to her memory.

The regatta is organized and sponsored by the Long Beach/Los Angeles Women’s Sailing Association and hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club.

Final Results
1. Kris Zillman, San Diego YC, 2-7-6-1-1-2-1, 20 points
2. Kayla McComb, Newport Harbor YC, 3-2-3-3-2-1-6, 20
3. Vicki Sodaro, San Francisco YC, 1-1-5-7-3-4-3, 24
4. Shala Youngerman, Southwestern YC, 4-5-4-2-5-5-2, 27
5. Liz Hjorth, Cal YC, 6-6-1-4-4-3-7, 31
6. Karyn Jones, Women’s Sailing Association of Santa Monica, 5-3-2-8-6-7-5, 36
7. Alexia Fischer, Gybe Ho, 7-4-7-5-7-6-10, 46
8. Wendy Corzine/Lisa Meier, Long Beach YC, 9-8-9-6-9-8-4, 53
9. Deb Kraemer, Long Beach Women’s Sailing Association, 8-9-8-9-11-9-8, 62
10. Terri Manok, Women’s Sailing Association of Orange County, 10-10-10-12DNF-10-10-9, 71
11. Jane Thomas, Channel Islands Women’s Sailing Association, 11-11-11-10-8-11-11, 73

Event details:

Thank you for letting me come out on Sunday to take pictures of the Regatta! Erin Rustigan is an amazing driver! It was a great day of amazing racing from all of the crews!

Posted by Joysailing on Monday, October 17, 2016

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.