Top 80 Finalists for Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2016

Published on October 18th, 2016

Eighty pictures have been selected for the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2016, a contest started in 2010 to provide an opportunity for professional yacht racing photographers to share their passion for yacht racing with a wide community. It is the world’s premier photography competition dedicated to the sport of sailing.

One hundred forty-nine professional photographers from 25 different countries submitted entries by the October 13 deadline, with their best 80 shots preselected by a panel of three world class sailing photographers – Rick Tomlinson, Christian Février and Eric Brin.

The images, all taken between November 1, 2015 and October 13, 2016, are now available for the public vote. Voting closes on November 20. To voteclick here.

Three prizes will be awarded on November 29, at the Yacht Racing Forum in Malta:
– The main prize is the ‘Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image’, selected by the international jury: Andy Hunt (World Sailing CEO, UK), Keith Taylor (marine writer, editor and marine publicist, NZL), Antonio Palma (CEO, Mirabaud & Cie SA, SUI), Anna-Lena Elled (yachting journalist and picture editor, SWE), and Ian Walker (pro sailor, UK, winner of the Volvo Ocean Race)

– The ‘Yacht Racing Forum Award’, decided by the 700 delegates of World Sailing’s Annual conference and the 300 delegates of the Yacht Racing Forum.

– The ‘Public Award’ is based on the number of votes on Internet. This is a fun award, aimed at increasing the visibility of both the photographers and the entire contest. Photographers are encouraged to like and share pictures, and to do as much self-promotion as they like. This prizes recognizes the quality of the winning picture as well as the photographers’ network and the support he (she) can generate around him and his/her photograph.

Source: MaxComm Communication

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.