Visit Pensacola

VIDEO: Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2016

Published on January 1st, 2017

The 72nd edition of the Rolex Sydney Hobart closed on January 1 with the official prizegiving organised by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania. The ceremony presented an opportune moment to reflect on a truly memorable race.

Anthony Bell’s 100-ft Maxi Perpetual LOYAL won line honours and took almost five hours off the previous race record. Jim Delegat’s 70-ft New Zealand yacht Giacomo showed true resilience in claiming overall race victory on handicap. Their remarkable exploits were both rewarded with Rolex timepieces. However, the Rolex Sydney Hobart is not only about prizes.

Eighty-three of the 88 competing yachts finished the 2016 race, testament to the dedication, commitment and passion invested by all who compete. Each and every edition of the race is unique and every race sailed likewise. Competitors enjoy sharing stories on the docks after the race and this overriding sense of friendship and camaraderie are important facets of what makes the Rolex Sydney Hobart so compelling.

Race detailsEntry listFacebookTwitter

The Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, organized by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia with the co-operation of Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania, is the ultimate test for skippers, tacticians and crews. The 2016 race was the 72nd edition of this 628 nautical mile, time-honoured and classic offshore race. On December 26, 88 yachts competed for the Tattersall’s Cup and coveted Rolex timepiece awarded to the overall winner.


Source: Quinag

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.