Over 300 teams prepare for ‘The Mac’

Published on June 7th, 2017

More than 300 boats have registered for the 109th Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac presented by Wintrust, one of the world’s longest-running freshwater distance races. At 333-miles, the races takes the fleet from the Chicago Lighthouse, just east of Navy Pier, to the Round Island Channel near Mackinac Island, Michigan.

This year’s race kicks off on July 15, with sailors competing from 40 USA states and nine countries, spanning from Australia to the United Kingdom.

Having started in 1898, with a mere five boasts, “The Mac”, has evolved into a world-class sporting event that is followed around the world. Among the participants will be last year’s, four-time Mackinac Trophy winners, Al and Bob Declercq, of the Flying Buffalo, from Clinton Township, Michigan. Last year’s winners of the Mackinac Cup, Philip and Sharon O’Neil of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, will also be returning this year and sailing on The Natalie J.

Event detailsEntry list

Background: At 333 miles (289.4 nautical miles), the Race to Mackinac is the oldest and most prestigious annual freshwater distance race in the world. ‘The Mac’ starts at the Chicago Lighthouse, just off Navy Pier and continues to Mackinac Island. 2016 marked the 108th Running of the Race to Mackinac, in which 319 racing yachts competed.

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.