Visit Pensacola

Home team dominates International Masters Regatta

Published on October 22nd, 2017

San Diego Yacht Club staff commodore Bill Campbell led his team to dominate the 2017 International Masters Regatta, held October 20-22 on South San Diego Bay in San Diego, CA. Twelve teams completed the single round robin fleet race series in J/105s, with Campbell winning by 23 points over Jon Andron in second and Tad Lacey in third.

With five bullets over three days, Campbell’s powerhouse team included Al Pleskus on the bow, Chuck Sinks and Andy La Dow trimming, Dwight Allgood in the pit, and Vince Brun as tactician and helping in the back of the boat steering.

“It’s easy when you have a bunch of great guys working for you,” admitted Campbell. “We had a wonderful time and we were fortunate to have a couple of great starts and races. We were able not to lose boats but always to gain boats if we had to.”

Historically, the International Masters Regatta was first established in 1975 and took place in the San Francisco Bay until 2012 when San Diego Yacht Club began hosting the distinguished event. The name of the event originates from the rule that invited skippers must be over the age of 60 and crew members must be over the age of 45.

Defending Champion Bill Menninger would have to settle for fourth while Andron moved up a step after finishing third in 2016.

“We had a fun weekend, but we were all racing for second place,” noted Andron. “Bill Campbell is a well deserved champion and he sailed beautifully.”

Event detailsResultsFacebook

Participating Skippers:
• Bill Campbell (SDYC): World Champion in the 420 Class in 1971, E-Scow National Champion in 1981, three time America’s Cup sailor in 1983, 1992, and 1995.

• Defending Champion Bill Menninger (NHYC): 2016 Masters Regatta winner and crew for 2016 Lipton Cup winning team, former Governor’s Cup Winner from the mid-1970s, US Team Racing Championship Team Winner.

• Jon Andron (St. Francis YC): has completed 15 Transpac races, is a former 505 North American Champion, sailed on Intrepid in the 1970 America’s Cup.

• Richard du Moulin (Larchmont YC): past winner of Block Island Race Week, the Vineyard and Block Island Races, lifetime goal is to sail 30 Bermuda races.

• David Irish (Little Traverse YC): three time past president of US Sailing, former Vice President of ISAF (now World Sailing), in 2013 was awarded the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy for outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing.

• Tad Lacey (SFYC): winner of the San Francisco Cup in 2013, class winner at the Rolex Big Boat Series (has raced the Rolex Big Boat Series for almost 40 years), SFYC Commodore in 2013.

• Jimmie Lowe (Nassau YC): 2016 Snipe Worlds Grandmaster Class Winner, currently the Director of Sailing at the Bahamas Sailing Association.

• Ted Moore (NYYC): won the 2017 NYYC Grandmaster’s Team Race, tied for first at the Nantucket Pro Am in IODS for the past two years.

• Dave Perry (Pequot YC): 1975 Intercollegiate Dinghy National Champion (Yale) and 2-time All-American in college, the 1983 & 1984 Congressional Cup winner, the 1978 Tasar North American Champion, the 1994, 1999 and 2003 Ideal 18 North American Champion.

• Doug Rastello (NHYC): participated in three America’s Cups, 1989 Prince of Wales trophy winner at the US Match Racing Championship, two-time winner of the Big Boat Series as crew.

• Dr. Laura Schlessinger (SBYC): has raced the Corona del Mar to Cabo Race (Class D winner and second boat to finish), Transpac, and PV Races, only female skipper in the 2017 International Masters Regatta.

• Tom Webster (YC of Hilton Head): South Atlantic Yacht Racing Association Penguin and Y-Flyer Champion and a National Junior Champion, chairman in past NA Finn, NA Europe Class Regattas, and the 1998 Mumm 30 World Championship.

Source: SDYC

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.