Visit Pensacola

Volvo Ocean Race: Crew announced for Leg Two

Published on November 3rd, 2017

The second leg of the Volvo Ocean Race starts November 5 with some big names joining the three week competition that will take the seven teams along the 7,000 nautical mile course from Lisbon, Portugal to Cape Town, South Africa.

Roberto Bermudez de Castro Munoz, aka ‘Chuny’, will sail with Leg 1 winner Vestas 11th Hour Racing. A veteran of six previous Volvo Ocean Race campaigns, Chuny adds vast experience and much sought-after helming skills to the Vestas team ahead of the first open ocean leg.

And skipper Simeon Tienpont has also added experience to team AkzoNobel to bolster his crew – Jules Salter, a previous race winner, will take over in the navigator’s chair; and Chris Nicholson, a five-race veteran and former skipper also joins the team, as does Peter van NieKerk, who has two previous races under his belt.

For this long ocean leg, five of the teams are sailing with nine crew (7 men, 2 women). Turn the Tide on Plastic have 10 sailors on board (5 men. 5 women), while Sun Hong Kai/Scallywag are going with eight in their line-up (7 men, 1 woman).

Crew lists for Leg 2 – Lisbon to Cape Town:

Dongfeng Race Team
Skipper – Charles Caudrelier
Navigator – Pascal Bidégorry
Stuart Bannatyne
Jérémie Beyou
Daryl Wislang
Marie Riou
Carolijn Brouwer
Jackson Bouttell
Jinhao Chen
OBR Jérémie Lecaudey

team AkzoNobel
Skipper – Simeon Tienpont
Navigator – Jules Salter
Chris Nicholson
Peter Van Niekerk
Brad Farrand
Nicolai Sehested
Emily Nagel
Martine Grael
Luke Molloy
OBR James Blake

Team Brunel
Skipper – Bouwe Bekking
Navigator – Andrew Cape
Carlo Huisman
Alberto Bolzan
Kyle Langford
Maciel Cicchetti
Peter Burling
Annie Lush
Abby Ehler
OBR Richard Edwards

Team Sun Hung Kai/Scallywag
Skipper – David Witt
Navigator – Steve Hayles
Alex Gough
Annemieka Bes
Benjamin Piggott
John Fisher
Luke Parkinson
Tom Clout
OBR Konrad Frost

Turn the Tide on Plastic
Skipper – Dee Caffari
Navigator – Nico Lunven
Martin Strömberg
Liz Wardley
Annalise Murphy
Francesca Clapcich
Bianca Cook
Lucas Chapman
Henry Bomby
Frederico Melo
OBR Sam Greenfield

Vestas 11th Hour Racing
Skipper – Charlie Enright
Navigator – Simon Fisher
Mark Towill
Roberto ‘Chuny’ Bermúdez de Castro Muñoz
Nick Dana
Tom Johnson
Tony Mutter
Stacey Jackson
Jena Hansen
OBR Martin Keruzore

Skipper – Xabi Fernández
Navigator – Juan Vila
Pablo Arrarte
Rob Greenhalgh
Antonio “Ñeti” Cuervas-Mons
Blair Tuke
Willy Altadill
Sophie Ciszek
Tamara Echegoyen
OBR Ugo Fonolla

Race detailsLive contentScoreboardRace routeFacebookYouTube

The second leg of the 2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race starts November 5 and is expected to take three weeks for the seven teams to complete the 7000 nm course from Lisbon, Portugal to Cape Town, South Africa.

2017-18 Edition: Entered Teams – Skippers
Team AkzoNobel (NED), Simeon Tienpont (NED)
Dongfeng Race Team (CHN), Charles Caudrelier (FRA)
MAPFRE (ESP), Xabi Fernández (ESP)
Vestas 11th Hour Racing (DEN/USA), Charlie Enright (USA)
Team Sun Hung Kai/Scallywag (HKG), David Witt (AUS)
Turn the Tide on Plastic (POR), Dee Caffari (GBR)
Team Brunel (NED), Bouwe Bekking (NED)

Background: Racing the one design Volvo Ocean 65, the 2017-18 Volvo Ocean Race begins in Alicante, Spain on October 22 2017 with the final finish in The Hague, Netherlands on June 30 2018. In total, the 11-leg race will visit 12 cities in six continents: Alicante, Lisbon, Cape Town, Melbourne, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Auckland, Itajaí, Newport, Cardiff, Gothenburg, and The Hague. A maximum of eight teams will compete.

Source: Volvo Ocean Race

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.