Reineke and Peschiera Win in St. Pete

Published on November 5th, 2017

St. Petersburg, FL (November 5, 2017) – The 2017 College Sailing Singlehanded National Championships was held on November 4-5, hosted by St. Petersburg Yacht Club and University of South Florida.

The top 18 men and top 18 women singlehanded college sailors have qualified for the event, based on quotas, through the seven national conferences and will compete in provided new full rig Lasers (men) and Laser Radials (women) on Tampa Bay.

Twelve races were held over the weekend.

In the Women’s Division, Sophia Reineke ’21, Boston College, won the regatta in the last race of the day. She finished seventh place in that race, giving her a total of 68 points, one point ahead of Dana Rohde ’18, U. S. Coast Guard Academy, who had the overall lead until finishing eighteenth in the last race.

The Men’s Division was won by Stefano Peschiera ’18, College of Charleston. Peschiera dominated the regatta finishing with 50 points over the twelve races. The second place finisher was Gerald Williams ’19, College of Charleston, fourteen points behind Peschiera.

Event detailsMen resultsWomen Results

Men’s Entries
Gary Prieto ’18, U. S. Naval Academy
Carrson Pearce ’21, U. S. Merchant Marine Academy
Clay Broussard ’18, Georgetown University
Maximilian Guerriero ’21, U. S. Naval Academy
Korbin Kierstead ’19, University of Wisconsin
Charlie Kutschenreuter ’19, University of Wisconsin
Mason Wolters ’18, University of Michigan
Nicholas Baird ’19, Yale University
Scott Rasmussen ’20, Boston College
Malcolm Lamphere ’18, Yale University
Alp Rodopman ’17, Tufts University
Benjamin McMaster ’21, University of British Columbia
Luke Muller ’18, Stanford University
Lucas Pierce ’21, University of California at Santa Barbara
Stefano Peschiera ’18, College of Charleston
Gage Wilson ’21, Jacksonville University
Gerald Williams ’19, College of Charleston
John Hanna ’19, Texas A&M University at Galveston

Women’s Entries
Lola Bushnell ’18, Georgetown University
Lenox Butcher ’20, University of Pennsylvania
Riley Legault ’19, George Washington University
Carly Broussard ’21, Georgetown University
Haddon Hughes ’19, Georgetown University
Rachel Rantanen ’19, Michigan State University
Dana Rohde ’18, U. S. Coast Guard Academy
Talia Toland ’21, Tufts University
Anna Weis ’20, Boston University
Lindsey Baab ’18, Brown University
Sophia Reineke ’21, Boston College
Laura Smit ’18, University of Washington
Christina Sakellaris ’21, Stanford University
Sophia Sole ’21, Stanford University
Kelly-Ann Arrindell ’20, College of Charleston
Marian Frances Williams ’21, College of Charleston
Sarah Streater ’18, University of South Florida
Shelby Thornton ’19, University of North Texas

The Men’s Champion will have his name and college engraved on the Glen S. Foster Trophy, and the second place finisher’s name and college will be engraved on the George H. Griswold Trophy. The Women’s Champion will have her name and college engraved on the Janet Lutz Trophy.

Background: The Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) is the governing authority for sailing competition at colleges and universities throughout the United States and in some parts of Canada. There are seven Conferences that schedule and administer regattas within their established geographic regions, with ICSA hosting two national championships in the fall (singlehanded, match racing) and three national championships in the spring (team, women’s, coed).

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.