Typically random at WIM Series Busan

Published on November 15th, 2017

Busan, Korea (November 15, 2017) – The second day of the Busan Cup Women’s International Match Race, the third event of the 2017 Women’s International Match Racing (WIM) Series, saw strong, unstable winds for the field of 12 teams that have been divided into two groups for the round robin qualifying stage.

“Today was typical Busan – VERY puffy and VERY shifty! But lots of fun!” laughed Renée Groeneveld – skipper of Matchrace Team Netherlands.

The fun match for the Dutch was the match with Brit Lucy Macgregor’s Team Mac. “Lucy did the steel balls after the dial up, but we still stayed in control following her off to the right,” explained Groeneveld. “She couldn’t gybe back, but we led back to the line a little early. We surprised her with a dial down and left her behind off of the line and led all of the way to the finish.”

Macgregor ended the round robin with 8 wins and 3 losses – her only loss today coming in her match with Groeneveld. “We had a good day, winning 5 of 6,” said Macgregor. “A pretty solid performance from the team. We had a good position against Renée in the pre-start then I gave it away. It was all my fault.”

As for the next stage, she’ll be waiting until tomorrow as the last three flights are sailed with the top six seeds each having three matches to sail to determine the final seeding for the quarter-finals.

The team representing the host country, Team Ladies with skipper Eun-Jin Kim from Seoul, has jumped into the deep end at her first grade 1 women’s match race and is learning many lessons.

“Today was very tough but we are excited because we got a lot of experience about match racing and we learned a lot,” said Kim. “We received a lot of penalties, but we learn even more from that. The best thing from today is that we won one start. We really love match racing and can’t wait to do more, but we need to practice a lot before next year!”

The teams leading the standings after day one are still on top as Team Kattnakken with skipper Trine Palludan remains undefeated with a perfect 8-0 score while Caroline Sylvan and her New Sweden Match Racing Team suffered one loss to end the day tied for second with French skipper Pauline Courtois and her Match in Pink by Normandy Elite Team.

Racing is planned for November 14 to 18.

Day Two Standings
1- Trine Palludan, DEN, Team Kattnakken, 8-0
2- Caroline Sylvan, SWE, New Sweden Match Racing Team, 7-1
2- Pauline Courtois, FRA, Match in Pink by Normandy Elite Team, 7-1
4- Renée Groeneveld, NED, Matchrace Team Netherlands, 6-2
5- Lucy Macgregor, GBR, Team Mac, 8-3
6- Anna Östling, SWE, Team Anna, 5-3
6- Marinella Laaksonen, FIN, L2 Match Racing Team, 5-3
8- Sarah Parker, AUS, Team Parker, 4-7
9- Clare Costanzo, AUS, Team Costanzo, 3-8
10- Alexa Bezel, SUI, Swiss Women Match Race Team, 3-8
11- Linnea Floser, SWE, Peregrine Racing, 1-10
12- Eunjin Kim, KOR, Team Ladies, 0-11

WIM SeriesEvent detailsEntry listResultsFacebook

Background: The Women’s International Match Racing Series is in its fifth season, providing in 2017 a four-event professional sailing circuit organized by the Women’s International Match Racing Association for the world’s leading women match racing sailors.

2017 Women’s International Match Racing Series
June 16-21 – Women’s Match Racing World Championship – Helsinki, Finland
August 7-12 – Lysekil Women’s Match – Lysekil, Sweden
November 13-18 – Busan Cup Women’s International Match Race – Busan, South Korea
Nov 30-Dec 3 – Carlos Aguilar Match Race – St Thomas, US Virgin Islands – Cancelled
December 11-16 2017 International Bedanne’s Cup – Tourville-la-Rivière, France

WIM Series Standings (After 2 events)
1. Renée Groeneveld, Dutch Match Racing Team, NED, 47
2. Anna Östling, Team Anna, SWE, 38
3. Trine Palludan, Team Experience, DEN, 38
4. Pauline Courtois, Match in Pink by Normandy Elite Team, FRA, 34
5. Caroline Sylvan, New Sweden Match Racing Team, SWE, 26
6. Marinella Laaksonen, L2 Match Racing Team, FIN, 26
7. Lucy Macgregor, Team Mac, GBR, 25
8. Johanna Bergqvist, Team Bergqvist Match Racing, SWE, 20
9. Alexa Bezel, ChicaCER Women Match Racing Team, SUI, 14
10. Mikaela Fors, Pen & Hammer Sailing Team, FIN, 14
11. Antonia Degerlund, Team Sköna Vibbisar, FIN, 11
12. Linnéa Floser, Peregrine Racing, SWE, 8
13. Octavia Owen, Athena Racing, GBR, 7
14. Margot Riou, APCC Women’s Sailing Team, FRA, 7
15. Martina Karlemo, Team Karlemo, FIN, 6
16. Sanna Häger, Stockholm Match Racing Team, SWE, 4
17. Ekaterina Kochkina, Team SailWay, RUS, 3

Source: WIM Series

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.