Winners revealed for Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Awards

Published on November 28th, 2017

The 8th edition of the international photo contest Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image, which attracted submissions from 134 photographers spanning 27 countries, has honored German photographer Sören Hese and his surprising picture taken from a drone during the 5O5 German championships. Based in Berlin, Hese has been working as an independent photographer since 1990.

“I am very proud because this contest is the absolute reference in yacht racing photography,” he said. “I took this picture using a time-motion-stack imaging concept, capturing the image basically as a time series from a quadrocopter (drone).

“I found its graphical structure very interesting and also story telling, and so decided to submit it to the contest. I am very touched by this victory, against all those prestigious photographers. There were also so many major international events this year that I am really surprised to have won.”

Two additional awards were announced:
• Tomàs Moya won the ‘Yacht Racing Forum Award’, decided by the delegates of World Sailing’s Annual conference and the delegates of the Yacht Racing Forum.

• Zita Kovács won the ‘Public Award’ which is based on votes by the public on the social networks.

After the entries had been reduced to the top 80 pictures by the international jury, the public vote commenced for their favorite pictures. The jury then reduced the field further to the top 20 pictures for their selection of the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image Award. The nations most represented amongst the top 20 were Russia and France, with four photographers each.

Hese received the prestigious title, a wall clock provided by luxury watchmaker Hublot and €1000 prize money.

Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2017 – Top 10
1. Sören Hese (GER)
2. Dmitry Sharomov (RUS)
3. Sander van der Borch (NED)
4. Tobias Stoerkle (GER)
5. Pedro Martinez (ESP)
6. Nicolas Jutzi (SUI)
7. Cristina Balcells (ESP)
8. Marina Semenova (RUS)
9. Stephanie Billarant (FRA)
10. Elena Otekina (RUS)

Yacht Racing Forum award – Top 5
1. Tomàs Moya (ESP)
2. Sander van der Borch (NED)
3. Cristina Balcells (ESP)
4. Martina Orsini (ITA)
5. Chris Cameron (NZL)

Public Award – Top 5
1. Zita Kovács (HUN)
2. Max Ranchi (ITA)
3. Elena Otekina (RUS)
4. Pedro Martinez (ESP)
5. Gérald Coulon (FRA)

Tags: , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.