Sail Canada Award Recipients Announced

Published on January 25th, 2018

Sail Canada has announced the recipients of the 2017 Sail Canada Awards and the Rolex Sailor of the Year Finalists.

• Skippers’ Plan Female Athlete – Brenda Bowskill
• Skippers’ Plan Male Athlete of the Year – Tom Ramshaw
• Volvo Car Volunteer of the Year – René Dallaire
• Bill Burk Memorial Youth Elite Award:
Liam Bruce (male), Georgia Lewin LaFrance & Madeline Gillis (female)
• Gerry Roufs Trophy – Triple Lindy Canadian Crew members; Sean McDermott, Rory McDonald, Rob Trainor, John • Mackay, Kent Paisley, Patrick LaRoche
• Coach of the Year – Brigitte Smutny
• Instructor of the Year – Devin Rubadeau
• Marvin McDill Memorial Award – Luke Ruitenberg
• Nathan R Cowan Memorial Award for Developing Sailors – William Jones & Evan DePaul
• William Abbott Sr. Trophy; Sail Training Program of the Year – Écovoile Baie-des-chaleurs
• Recreation Event of the Year – Fédération de Voile de Québec; Programme Voile mobile
• City of Kingston Regatta of the Year – Gimli YC; 2017 Jeux Canada Games
• Chisholm Trophy for Excellence in Race Management – J24 World Championships; Port Credit YC

Rolex Sailor of the Year Finalists:
• Brenda Bowskill
• Al Clark
• Rossi Milev

The Rolex Sailor of the Year will be revealed at the Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards. The 2017 Sail Canada Awards will be featured, with selected awards to be presented, at the Sail Canada Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards on Friday, March 2nd, 2018 in Toronto, Ontario at The Carlu.


comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.