Kiwis poised to win JJ Giltinan Champs

Published on March 10th, 2018

Sydney, Australia (March 10, 2018) – Tomorrow will be a historic day in JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Racing Championship history when a New Zealand team will be the first Kiwi team to win the championship on Sydney Harbour since the first championship regatta was sailed back in 1938.

Only Mersk Line (Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson, Dave Hazzard) or Honda Marine (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven, Brad Collins) can win the 2018 regatta.

After a dramatic day of racing on Sydney Harbour today, Australian champion Smeg (Lee Knapton, Ricky Bridge, Mike McKensey) took the honours by just 8s from Honda Marine, with Asko Appliances (James Dorron, Paul Montague, Harry Bethwaite) a further 10s back in third place.

Finport Trade Finance (Keagan York) finished fourth, with Maersk Line fifth. Only 38s separated the top five boats in a hard fought race over the Easterly course siled in 9-12-knots of breeze.

Asko Appliances led for the first lap of the course but lost out to Smeg on the second windwrd beat.

Honda Marine needed to finish ahead of Maersk Line to give the team the best possible chance of becomming the first New Zealanders to win on Sydney Harbour and was always in the top three and ahead of Maersk Line.

Going into tomorrow’s big clash, Honda Marine holds a two points advantage over Maersk Line but, if each team finishes outside the top five, then discards could change the table.

Whatever happens, there will be a first time champion and the spectators who watch the race will see a great contest, expected to be sailed over the great North-East course.

Event detailsRace 8 resultsOverall resultsFacebook

Background: In the absence of an official world championship, the JJ Giltinan Championship is the highest honor for the 18-foot skiff class. The 2018 edition on March 3-11 brings together on Sydney Harbor 25 elite international teams to vie for the class’s most esteemed trophy.

Racing Schedule
March 3 – Race 1
March 4 – Race 2
March 6 – Race 3
March 7 – Race 4 and 5
March 8 – Race 6 and 7
March 10 – Race 8
March 11

Source: Frank Quealey, Australian 18 Footers League

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.