Historic sailing award in the USA

Published on June 22nd, 2018

Crafted and sailed for in 1890, the Felker Cup is considered the longest continuously contended sailing award in the United States, and is annually sailed for by A Scow locals of Oshkosh, WI.

However, this year was different.

Felker Cup

The National Class A Scow Association is holding its Nationals in Oshkosh on June 22-24, and on June 21 the entire class sought to grab the treasured prize on Lake Winnebago.

This year’s Felker Cup winner is I-96, White Magic, owned and helmed by Chuck Lamphere. Joining Chuck are his two sons, Gordon and Malcolm, and three Beulah sailors: John and David Porter and Michael Barr.

Suitably, the trophy is permanently on display at The Waters in Oshkosh, WI.

Noted architect William Waters built The Waters in 1903 as the Oshkosh Yacht Club. The Georgian Revival building was regarded as the finest clubhouse in the Midwest. Decades later, members of American Legion Post 70 bought The Waters and used it as a clubhouse for more than 60 years.

In 2008, restorations returned The Waters to its original Georgian Revival architecture. Though it’s now a year-round special events venue, the American Legion and the Oshkosh Yacht Club still call The Waters home.

The Waters

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.