Parkin wins U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship

Published on July 1st, 2018

Jack Parkin (Greenwich, Conn.) and his team of Ashton Borcherding (Greenwich, Conn.), Bram Brakman (Darien, Conn.), and Wiley Rogers (Kemah, Texas) won the U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship held from June 29 to July 1 in Oyster Bay, NY.

For 16 to 20 year olds, ten teams of four consisting of at least one female crew per Sonar boat finished the qualifying round robin on day two, but hot and humid conditions on day three did not deliver enough breeze for teams to advance to the knock out stage. As a result, the race committee referred to the results of the previous two days to score the regatta.

Winning the round robin stage, Parkin’s team finished nine races with eight points, and only one loss in the Round Robin to last year’s champion, David Wood (Corona del Mar, Calif.). The champions represented Riverside Yacht Club (Conn.).

Also finishing with eight points through nine races were Cameron Feves (Long Beach, Calif.), Tanner Chapko (Coronado, Calif.), Brock Paquin (Coronado, Calif,), and Lukas Kraak (Palos Verdes, Calif.). Parkin defeated Feves in the Round Robin for the tie-breaker edge. Feves took second place overall and represented the Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club (Calif.).

Placing third with six points was Ansgar Jordan (San Diego, Calif.), Soenke Jordan (San Diego, Calif.), Patrick Mulcahey (Los Angeles, Calif.), and Marianna Shand (Chula Vista, Calif.). They represented the Coronado Yacht Club (Calif.).

At each Rose Cup, one team is awarded the Nick Scandone Sportsmanship Award. The recipients are chosen by the other competitors. This year’s recipients were Conrad Vandlik (Wayzata, Minn.), Carl Eaton (Wayzata, Minn.), Emma Aubuchon (Wayzata, Minn.) and Nathan Olmstead (Wayzata, Minn.).

Coaching and instruction plays a major role in these sailors’ experience. Five-time U.S. Match Racing Champion, Dave Perry (Southport, Conn.), led a North U Advanced Match Racing Clinic on Wednesday and Thursday before the regatta, June 27 and 28. He also coached all three days of the regatta. His enthusiasm was contagious and invaluable to keeping the kids’ morale high despite challenging conditions.

Originally known as the Rose Cup, this event was founded by members of the Balboa Yacht Club and the Newport-Balboa Sailing & Seamanship Association (NBSSA) and was started as an invitational youth match race event in 2010. The mission is to promote youth match racing in the U.S. and improve the skills of racers from around the country in national and international competition. In 2015, US Sailing elevated the Rose Cup to an official US Sailing National Championship.

1. Jack Parkin
2. Cameron Feves
3. Ansgar Jordan
4. Cole Harris
5. Conrad Vandlik
6. Porter Killian
7. David Wood
8. Jack Reiter
9. Robert Turigliatto
10. Christophe Chaumont

Championship informationEvent detailsResults

Editor’s note: The results have been revised, which previously had reversed the positions for David Wood and Jack Reiter.

Tags: , , , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.