$10,000 for sustainability award winner

Published on September 11th, 2018

World Sailing and 11th Hour Racing will award a prize of $10,000 USD to each winner of the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award over the next three years to fund their sustainability work.

Launched in 2018, the award celebrates the effective execution or ongoing delivery of high-impact, highly replicable sustainability initiatives, aligned to the World Sailing Sustainability Agenda 2030.

National Federations, sailing clubs, event organising committees, individual sailors or any other sailing related organisations that have implemented and delivered a successful sustainability initiative after November 2017 are invited to apply.

Individuals or organisations can be nominated by its own members and employees, or by another individual or organisation. The project should align with World Sailing’s objectives, demonstrate meaningful impact, be innovative and be replicable in other sailing organisations.

The deadline for applications is October 8, 2018: click here.

“The World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award will enable both parties to learn about further worldwide initiatives and organisations who are contributing to ensure a sustainable future for our sport,” said Dan Reading, World Sailing Sustainability Programme Manager.

“We will use the process to amplify and learn from successful, replicable projects to progress World Sailing’s sustainability strategy for the sport – Sustainability Agenda 2030.

“11th Hour Racing were a crucial partner in us delivering the 2018 Youth Sailing World Championships where several sustainable initiatives ensured it was a plastic-free event that inspired the next generation of sailors to having sustainability at the forefront of their mind. We are thrilled to be partnering with them again as they have supported sustainability projects at all levels in sailing and it will be valuable to have their input once again.”

“We are aware of some of the sustainability initiatives happening within the sport of sailing, but we are excited to review the submissions to the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award, so we can learn about the other great work being done by sailors across the globe to restore the health of our ocean,” explains Todd McGuire, 11th Hour Racing Program Director.

The judging panel will consist of World Sailing’s Sustainability Commission, World Sailing’s Sustainability Programme Manager, a representative from World Sailing’s Board and a representative from 11th Hour Racing.

The recipient of the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award will be invited and hosted at the 2018 World Sailing Awards, set to be held on Tuesday October 30 2018 in Sarasota, Florida, USA, where they will be presented with an iconic perpetual trophy made from recycled carbon fibre and bioresin.

The World Sailing Awards celebrate outstanding achievement and exceptional contributions to the sport of sailing. The highlight of the annual Awards night is the presentation of the ultimate recognition of excellence – the Rolex World Sailor of the Year Award.

The Awards night is the social highlight of the World Sailing Annual Conference and 2018 is set to be a ground breaking edition with the introduction of the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award, the Team of the Year and the Boat of the Year.

Alongside Rolex World Sailor of the Year and the new Awards, the Beppe Croce Trophy, President Development Award and eSailing World Championship Trophy will be presented.

Source: World Sailing

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.