Tasmanians bring home Sydney Hobart overall win

Published on December 29th, 2018

(December 30, 2018) – With all boats still racing now outside their handicap times, Phillip Turner’s Reichel/Pugh 66 Alive has won the double for the 2018 Rolex Sydney Hobart, claiming the George Adams Tattersall Cup for Overall Winner on IRC and the Charleston Trophy for Overall Winner on ORCi.

Navigator Wouter Verbraak has won the Bill Owen Memorial Trophy – for the navigator of the overall winner on handicap and the City of Hobart Trophy – for the Navigator of the first Tasmanian yacht on handicap.

Reichel/Pugh Yacht Design have won the Alan Payne Memorial Trophy – for the designer of the overall winner on handicap. They not only designed Alive but also 2nd placed Ocean Respect Racing, 3rd Placed Voodoo Sailing and the 1st and 2nd Line Honours boats – Wild Oats XI and Black Jack Yachting.

Event DetailsTrackerStandingsFacebook

Background: Eight-five yachts will be chasing line honours and the overall Tattersall Cup win in the 628nm Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race which starts December 26, 2018. From Sydney Harbour, the fleet sails out into the Tasman Sea, down the south-east coast of mainland Australia, across Bass Strait (which divides the mainland from the island State of Tasmania), then down the east coast of Tasmania. At Tasman Island the fleet turns right into Storm Bay for the final sail up the Derwent River to the historic port city of Hobart.

Source: Nic Douglass


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.