Visit Pensacola

47th Seawanhaka Cup

Published on June 15th, 2019

Seven teams participated in the 47th Seawanhaka International Challenge Cup for Small Yachts held June 13-15 in Oyster Bay, New York. Racing Match 40s in 15-25 knot breezes, Long Beach Yacht Club beat the defending champion Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club for the coveted Seawanhaka Cup.

Leading the teams was Chris Poole for Seawanhaka, Scotty Dickson for Long Beach, Dave Perry for Pequot, Pearson Potts, Jr. for New York Yacht Club, Will Bailey for Corinthian, Peter Wickwire for Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron, and Mauro Leite for Punta del Este.

In the Semi-Finals, Long Beach, Seawanhaka, Pequot, and Corinthian Yacht Club battled for the two finalist spots.

This match race regatta started in 1895 and has been sailed ever since.

Final standings for this Grade 3 regatta:
1. Long Beach Yacht Club (USA)
2. Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club (USA)
3. Corinthian Yacht Club (USA)
4. Pequot Yacht Club (USA)
5. New York Yacht Club (USA)
6. Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron (CAN)
7. Yacht Club Punta del Este (URU)

Event detailsResultsCrew lists

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.