Visit Pensacola

20 nations for Star World Championship

Published on June 16th, 2019

The 2019 Star World Championship will begin June 17, with 65 teams hailing from 20 nations set to compete in Porto Cervo, Italy. Healthy contingents from Italy, the USA, Switzerland, and Germany will compete in the 97th edition for this timeless keelboat designed in 1911 by Francis Sweisguth.

Racing is planned through June 22, but in order for the World Championship to be valid at least six races will need to be completed, with a single round the buoys race scheduled each day, covering a total distance of approximately 10 nautical miles. A maximum of two races can be held per day to recover any cancelled racing, and competition can also be extended to June 23 and 24.

Eight of the participating teams are former Star World Championship winners. They include two Italian crews: Roberto Benamati, winner with Marco Salani in 1991 and competing in Porto Cervo with Alberto Ambrosini, and Enrico Chieffi, World Champion in 1996 with Roberto Sinibaldi, sailing here with Manlio Corsi: a duo that has just clinched the Italian title.

The four past champions from the USA are Paul Cayard, who won in Buenos Aires in 1988, Eric Doyle, winner of the title in Punta Ala in 1999, who comes to Porto Cervo as the holder of the prestigious Bacardi Cup along with his bowman Payson Infelise, George Szabo, winner in Sweden in 2009 and Augie Diaz, who won in his home waters, Miami, in 2016.

The first warning signal is scheduled for 12 midday, with forecasts of 7 – 10 knots of westerly breeze.

Event detailsEntry listTrackingFacebook

Six races are planned from June 17 to 22.

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.