John Loe claims US Adult Sailing Champs

Published on September 8th, 2019

Marion, MA (September 8, 2019) – The 13 teams representing their Regional Sailing Associations were challenged by the fast-paced action with varying conditions on Buzzards Bay over four days at the 2019 U.S. Adult Sailing Championship for the Mallory Trophy, hosted by the Beverly Yacht Club.

After 48 total races, including six races in the Stage 3 Final, John Loe (Highland Beach, Md.) and his team representing the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association (CBYRA) and the Annapolis Yacht Club earned the win in a closely contested final round. The winning crew includes Jake Doyle (Annapolis, Md.), Jamie Gilman (Galveston, Texas), and Robbie Deane (Essex, Md.).

Loe and Trey Sheehan (Chagrin Falls, Ohio), of the Inter-Lake Yachting Association (I-LYA), each finished the Stage 3 Final Round with 23 points over six races to place them in a tie atop the leaderboard. Loe earned the tie-breaker edge over Sheehan with their three first place finishes on the final day over Sheehan’s one first place finish.

Crewing for Sheehan and the I-LYA this week was Brad Boston (Point Edward, Ontario, CAN), Curtis Florence (Ohio), and Tyler Black (Newport, R.I.).

The top eight teams started the Final Round with a point representing their Qualifying Place (QP).

Racing was held in J/80s from September 5 to 8.

Event DetailsEntry ListResultsPhotos

Final Standings – Stage 3 – Top 8
1. John Loe (Chesapeake Bay YRA): 1 (QP) -6-1-8-4-2-1 = 23
2. Trey Sheehan (Inter-Lakes YA): 2(QP) -2-2-1-5-5-6 = 23
3. Peter Levesque (Narragansett Bay YRA): 3(QP) -8-3-4-1-4-3 = 26
4. Ryan Seago (Detroit RYA): 6(QP) -1-6-2-6-3-2 = 26
5. Will Stocke (Florida SA): 4(QP) -3-5-5-7-1-4 = 29
6. Mike Hanson (Inland Lake YA): 5(QP) -5-7-3-3-7-7 = 37
7. Matt Romberg (Texas SA): 7(QP) -7-4-6-9-6-5 = 44
8. Chip Johns (Southern Mass. SA): 8(QP) -4-8-7-2-8-8 = 45

This Championship was sailed using league racing, a fast and competitive format, featuring two flights with teams frequently rotating boats between races. Each team raced an equal number of races against the other competitors. Races were approximately 15 minutes in duration and race management ensured quick rotations with on-the-water judging.

Stage 1 included two rounds of racing for all 13 teams over Day 1 and 2. Each team completed eight races per round with boat rotations. A total of 26 races were conducted over the first two rounds. Stage 1 determined the top four teams advancing to Stage 3.

On Day 3, the Stage 2 Repechage round featured the remaining nine teams battling it out over six races to determine the next four teams, 5-8, advancing to Stage 3 on Day 4.

Staton J. Peele Sportsmanship Trophy winners:
Bosun Team – Peter d’Anjou, Cam Tougas, Julian Sudofsky, Paul Bradley

Source: US Sailing

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.