Wood is good at Vintage Gold Cup

Published on October 2nd, 2019

The third annual Vintage Gold Cup has attracted 26 entries from across seven nations to compete in this event dedicated to wooden Star boats, with racing October 3-5 on Gull Lake in Richland, MI. The event has been growing since the first edition in 2017 when 11 boats were on the starting line.

The Vintage Gold Cup is open to any wooden Star boat that has been restored to approximate original specifications with modern equipment that may include hiking straps and aluminum mast and boom. Also featured is a Classic Vintage Cup category for the boats that will include a wooden mast and boom.

Three races are scheduled on the first two days and two for the last one. The 2019 Vintage Gold Cup champions, skipper and crew, will be awarded the perpetual “Robert M. Boudeman Family Trophy” and the class honor of the gold wreath.

The trophy has been won at previous editions by the same skipper: Paul Cayard (USA) who is the one to watch out for on the Gull Lake racecourse. Cayard took first in 2017 with crew Brian Fatih and last year with his son Danny Cayard, with whom he will defend the title in 2019.

Six Star World Champions seek the title that include Cayard, Lars Grael (BRA), Eivind Melleby (NOR), John MacCausland (USA), the 92 year-old Malin Burnham (USA), and two-time Olympic champion Mark Reynolds (USA). Additionally, the reigning “Under Thirty” World Champion Luke Lawrence (USA) will be in the mix.

Event informationRace detailsEntry list

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.