Window closing on Sydney Hobart entry

Published on October 18th, 2019

(October 18, 2019) – A total of 157 entries have been received one week out from close of entries for the 2019 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race – and, in addition to a smattering of international entrants, nearly half the field is made up of yachts representing Australian states outside of New South Wales.

Queensland has emerged as the frontrunner with 22 boats, while Victoria (21) and Tasmania (14) are closing in. There are currently seven entrants from Western Australia.

Chutzpah is the standout Victorian entry. Owner Bruce Taylor has stood the test of time, with 38 Sydney Hobarts behind him, the first four as crew for others. Since, the yachtsman has skippered half-a-dozen boats he named Chutzpah, and all have delivered outstanding results.

From 1987 through to the 2018 race, Taylor has scored eight top-five overall places, inclusive of a trio of second places. He has only missed a divisional placing four times, but the overall win persists in eluding the Melbournian. Hopes are that his favourite Chutzpah, a Caprice 40, will do the job.

Chutzpah last year won the Noakes Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race. “Winning is important, but sailing well is just as important,” Taylor insists. “It gave us satisfaction to beat the TP52s and others.”

CYCA Commodore Paul Billingham said the 75th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race is shaping up to be an incredible event.

“To have more than 150 boats entered already in the 2019 Rolex Sydney Hobart is fantastic – a great result,” Billingham said. “There is still a week to go until entries close on October 25, so if you’re considering entering the race and haven’t yet done so do it now. We can’t wait to celebrate with everyone and look forward to an outstanding celebration marking our 75th race to Hobart.”

Entry for the 75th Sydney Hobart closes on Friday October 25, 2019 at 1700 hours.

The start on December 26 will take the fleet along the 628nm course from Sydney Harbour, down the south-east coast of mainland Australia toward the Tasman Island and up the Derwent River to the historic port city of Hobart.

Race detailsEntry listFacebook


Background: The 2019 fleet will be chasing line honours and the overall Tattersall Cup win in the 628nm Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race which starts December 26, 2019. From Sydney Harbour, the fleet sails out into the Tasman Sea, down the south-east coast of mainland Australia, across Bass Strait (which divides the mainland from the island State of Tasmania), then down the east coast of Tasmania. At Tasman Island the fleet turns right into Storm Bay for the final sail up the Derwent River to the historic port city of Hobart.

Source: RSHYR


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.