Visit Pensacola

SailGP moves to new Danish venue

Published on September 13th, 2020

The Danish city of Aarhus will host the fourth event in the SailGP second season on August 20-21, 2021. With racing on the picturesque Bay of Aarhus, the renowned sailing venue had recently staged the 2018 Sailing World Championships for all disciplines to be used at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Aarhus replaces Copenhagen which had planned to host the Danish event for Season 2 before the pandemic cancelled the 2020 schedule.

SailGP will begin Season 2 next year in San Francisco (April 17-18) before stopping in New York (June 4-5) and Plymouth, UK (July 17-18), en route to Denmark. The European leg of the season is planned to continue in team markets France and Spain, with further venues to be announced. At the conclusion of the season, the champion is awarded sailing’s largest monetary prize of US$1 million.

SailGP’s roster of national teams now sits at eight with the recent addition of New Zealand to the championship, bringing the number of Olympic gold medalist helmsmen in the league to four (Sir Ben Ainslie/Great Britain, Peter Burling/New Zealand, Nathan Outteridge/Japan, Tom Slingsby/Australia).

SailGP detailsTeam rostersResultsHow to watchFacebook

2021-22 Teams
Australia, Tom Slingsby
Denmark, Nicolai Sehested
France, Billy Besson
Great Britain, Ben Ainslie
Japan, Nathan Outteridge
New Zealand, Peter Burling
Spain, Jordi Xammar/ Phil Robertson*
United States, Rome Kirby
* Xammar will helm with Season 1 skipper Phil Robertson (NZL) serving in an interim capacity. Details.

2021-22 Schedule
Following the postponement of Season 2 due to COVID-19, here’s what has been confirmed thus far for the restart:

San Francisco, USA (April 17-18, 2021)
New York, USA (June 4-5, 2021)
Plymouth, GBR (July 17-18)
Aarhus, DEN (August 20-21)
France (dates TBA)
Spain (dates TBA)
Australia/New Zealand (dates TBA)

Established in 2018, SailGP seeks to be an annual, global sports league featuring fan-centric inshore racing in some of the iconic harbors around the globe. Rival national teams compete in identical F50 catamarans with the season culminating with a $1 million winner-takes-all match race.

Source: SailGP

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.