Celebrating excellence with past winners

Published on March 1st, 2021

Due to the global pandemic’s impact on international and national competitive racing events, the annual presentation of US Sailing’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards were canceled for 2020.

Established in 1961, these awards recognize the individual male and female U.S. sailors who have demonstrated on-the-water excellence at international and national events. The 2020 presentation would have marked the 40th anniversary of the Rolex sponsorship of these awards.

Looking forward with optimism, four past winners of the Rolex Yachtsman of the Year and four past winners of the Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year have gathered for two live program panel discussions moderated by National Sailing Hall of Famer and long-time Master of Ceremonies for the awards, Gary Jobson.

Jobson and the past winners will share stories, discuss what the future holds for competitive sailing in the United States, talk about what they are doing now, and the impact they have had on the sailing world since winning the awards.

Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year: March 4, 2021 at 8pm ET / 5pm PT
• Betsy Allison (1998, 1993, 1984, 1982, 1981)
• JJ Fetter (2000, 1997, 1991, 1986)
• Anna Tunnicliffe Tobias (2011, 2010, 2009, 2008)
• Daniela Moroz (2019, 2016)

Rolex Yachtsman of the Year: March 18, 2021 at 8pm ET / 5pm PT
• Paul Cayard (1998)
• Ed Baird (1995)
• Stan Honey (2010)
• Johnny Heineken (2012)

To save the dates and tune in to the broadcasts, click here.

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.