2021 M32 Miami Winter Series

Published on March 21st, 2021

The 2021 M32 Miami Winter Series held 31 races over four events in February and March, attracting eight teams for at least one event, with Don Wilson and his Convexity crew dominating the overall results in Miami, FL.

In last year’s Miami Winter Series, Pieter Taselaar on team Bliksem narrowly edged out Wilson for the series trophy when Wilson capsized rounding the last mark of the last race. This year, Taselaar and his team of Amanda Taselaar, Hayden Goodrick, Ricky McGarvie, and Julius Hallstrom fought hard to defend their title, but Wilson had the upper hand.

Convexity’s team of Don Wilson, Taylor Canfield, Ted Hackney, Josh McCaffery, and Kinley Fowler finished 1st or 2nd in all but one race across the first three events on their way to redeeming last year’s disappointing finish.

Finishing second in the overall series was Larry Phillips and his team Midtown Racing, with Taselaar finished third in the overall series to complete the podium.

New members and veterans of the M32 included Ryan McKillen on Surge, Jerry Kirby and Bill Ruh on Rule Number #1, Joel Ronning on Catapult, Dan Cherish on Extreme 2, and Jason Carroll on Argo.

To race safely during the pandemic, fully-umpired races kept competition honest. While the fleet was noticeably smaller, and the usual on-shore carousing was missed, all teams were appreciative of the opportunity to compete in an outdoor sport.

Full Results: m32world.com/results/

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.