Visit Pensacola

2021 BVI Dinghy Championships

Published on May 15th, 2021

Eighteen sailors took to the water on May 15 for the 2021 BVI Dinghy Championships to compete for four National titles. It was a tricky day on the water as frequent squalls kept both race committee and sailors busy in the shifting winds.

In the Laser Radial class, Max Reshetiloff claimed a clean sweep of first place finishes to take his first title in the class. In second place was Dwayne Palmer and in third place, competing at her first ever regatta, Marentia de Villiers.

The RS Feva class mixed things up with all three crews wining at least one race. The first race went to Eddie and Ashley Brockbank, Kael Chalwell and Nici Haycraft snagged the next three whilst Victoria Rowlette and Savion James clinched the final two. Overall Chalwell and Haycraft took the win on 8 points, the Brockbanks were second while Rowlette and James, who shared the helming duties through the day, came in third.

The Optimist fleet was unfortunately just two boats. A big well done goes to Jake Richardson who began learning to sail less than a year ago and was competing in his first ever regatta. The overall winner was Zaed Chalwell.

Seven boats competed in a very competitive Laser class with all sailors posting mixed results, it clearly showed that consistency pays. The overall winner was Colin Ratbun who took the bullet in four of the six races. Adding a third from the final race he finished with 7 points. In second place was the winner of race one who didn’t count a finish below third, Sam Talbot.

Coming home third was the the winner of the final race, Ollie Alsop who added two seconds, a fourth and a sixth to his final tally. Fourth place was Mike Hirst, just one point back from Alsop. Graham Stanton came in fifth, Samuel Allen sixth and Chris Haycraft seventh.

Final Results

1. Colin Rathbun – 7pts
2. Sam Talbot – 11 pts
3. Ollie Alsop – 15 pts
4. Mike Hirst – 16 pts
5. Graham Stanton – 23 pts
6. Samuel Allen – 24 pts
7. Chris Haycraft – 29 pts

Laser Radial
1. Max Reshetiloff – 5 pts
2. Dwayne Palmer – 11 pts
3. Marentia de Villiers – 14 pts

RS Feva
1. Kael Chalwell & Nici Haycraft – 8 pts
2. Eddie & Ashley Brockbank – 9 pts
3. Victoria Rowlette & Savion James – 11 pts

1. Zaed Chalwell
2. Jake Richardson

Facebook: PhotosVideo

Source: RBVIYC

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.