2019 BVI Dinghy Championship

Published on May 18th, 2019

Twenty one sailors across four classes competed in the 2019 BVI Dinghy Championship on May 18 with racing in the Sir Francis Drake Channel.

In the six-boat Laser fleet, Christian Thompson added the BVI Laser title to the Masters victory from September 2018 with three firsts, two seconds and a fourth. His fourth place in the final race was discarded but the win there by Joe McIvor was enough to bring him up to third overall. Ollie Alsop also claimed a race win and matched with three seconds and a fourth, he secured second overall.

12-year old Samuel Allen put in an impressive performance in the Laser Radial class winning five of the six races. Max Reshetiloff came in second, taking the final bullet of the Championship whilst Stephen Ganga finished third.

The RS Feva was a family affair with father/son, father/daughter, and brother/sister combinations in three of the four boats, but it was a team of friends who have cut their teeth together in the youth sailing program who stole the show. Victoria Rowlette with crew Amanda Plaxton showed the adults around the course taking four bullets in the six race series to finish on just six points. Ted and Anya Reshetiloff took the bullet in race three and finished on 11 points in second. Chris and Ashley Brockbank snatched the first race win and finished in third overall on 12 points.

The Optimist Green fleet (for those new to racing) welcomed four young sailors who sailed an eight race series. Ethan George led the way with bullets in all but one of the races but not without a challenge. Teammates Josiah Morris and Savion James, three of the newest members of the Royal BVI Yacht Club racing class in the after school programme, put their lessons into practice at their first ever regatta.

Morris claimed the bullet in race six and tussled with James throughout the other races for second and third position. Archie Drewett, racing in the morning only, put in an excellent performance, bravely racing for the first time and finished in fourth position.

Event details:


RS Feva
1. Victoria Rowlette and Amanda Plaxton, 6pts
2. Ted Reshetiloff and Anya Reshetiloff, 11
3. Chris Brockbank and Ashley Brockbank, 12
4. Chris Haycraft and Nici Haycraft, 15

1. Christian Thompson, 7pts
2. Ollie Alsop, 11
3. Joe McIvor, 14
4. Andrew Thompson, 16
5. Alastair Abrehart, 18
6. Henry Ebinger, 29

Laser Radial
1. Samuel Allen, 5pts
2. Max Reshetiloff, 10
3. Stephen Ganga, 13

Opti Green
1. Ethan George, 7pts
2. Josiah Morris, 15
3. Savion James, 18
4. Archie Drewett, 31

Source: Royal British Virgin Islands Yacht Club


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.