Visit Pensacola

Mark S. Rudiger Celestial Navigation Trophy

Published on August 20th, 2021

The final award for the 2021 Transpac Race, determined by a review panel from the Transpacific Yacht Club, goes to Jesse Osborn, winning the Mark S. Rudiger Celestial Navigation Trophy for his work as navigator aboard Justin Waite’s Stevens 47 Mikmaks.

The trophy is awarded to the navigator who submits celestial navigation worksheets or evidence of traditional navigation to the finish inspectors immediately after finishing, and whose work is selected as the “best” by an impartial panel of judges.

First awarded in 2011, the trophy is an antique brass 1905 T. Hemsley & Son silver-vernier A-frame sextant, donated by Stan Honey, which receives plaques for each winner.

For a complete list of winners, click here.

Here are the eight division winners:
Division 1. BadPak – Botin 56
Division 2. Peligroso – Kernan 68
Division 3. Warrior Won – Pac52
Division 4. Pied Piper – Santa Cruz 70
Division 5. Bretwalda3 – Rogers 46
Division 6. Horizon – Santa Cruz 50
Division 7. Favonius – Dehler 46
Division 8. Ho’okolohe – Farr 57

Event informationRace detailsResultsTracker

Forty-one teams started the 51st Transpac Race which took the fleet on a 2225 nm course from Point Fermin in Los Angeles to the finish line off Diamond Head in Honolulu, Hawaii.

2021 Schedule
July 13 start – Division 8
July 16 start – Division 5, 6, 7
July 17 start – Division 1, 2, 3, 4
July 30 – Honolulu Awards Ceremony

Source: TPYC

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.