Sarah Douglas named Canadian Sailor of the Year

Published on September 2nd, 2021

(September 2, 2021) – Sarah Douglas was named Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year for 2020-2021.

Following her 6th-place finish at Tokyo 2020, Sarah Douglas received this award for the second time in a row at Canada’s Celebration of Sailing held by Sail Canada and the Royal Canadian Yacht Club today in Toronto, Ont. The event, attended by approximately 110 guests including members of the Tokyo 2020 Canadian Olympic Sailing Team and past Olympians, celebrates performances and experiences of Canada’s high-performance sailors of the past, present and future.

Sarah Douglas achieved Canada’s best individual performance in women’s sailing in Olympic history in Tokyo by finishing in 6th position overall in Laser Radial. She also became the first Canadian to take part in the Medal Race of the Laser Radial class since this event was introduced to the Olympic Games program in 2008 in Beijing.

The previous best Canadian result in Laser Radial was 16th position in Rio in 2016. In 2020, she also took 6th spot at the Laser Radial European Championships.

“I am incredibly honored to win the Rolex Sailor of the Year award for a second time,” said Douglas. “Training through the pandemic was very challenging and I can’t thank my support team enough, as well as the entire community, for being there for me for the last five years and especially through the last 18 months; this award wouldn’t have been possible without them.

“Thank you to Rolex for continuing to support our sport in Canada. I hope that I inspired the next generation to chase after their dreams and that we will all continue to work together to support those dreams.”

Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year award has been given out annually since 1986 to individual(s) who have provided global recognition to Canadian sailing and Sail Canada, and who are renowned leaders that have attained high levels of excellence with significant results and accomplishments in world events or activities.

Along with recognition for exemplary sportsmanship, they have held the respect of their fellow sailors. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, this year award is based on performances achieved between December 2, 2019 and August 6, 2021.

Amongst previous winners of Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year award, Canada’s Olympic and Paralympic medalists Evert Bastet (2007), Terry McLaughlin (2001 and 2013), John McRoberts and Jackie Gay (2016), as well as Paul Tingley (2008) are all part of the prestigious list of winners, as is Ross MacDonald, who won it three times (1990, 1992 with Eric Jespersen and 2004 with Mike Wolfs).

More information:

Photo: The winner of the 2020-2021 Rolex Sailor of the Year Award Sarah Douglas with Rolex Canada CEO, Maxim Lamarre. Photo by Christian Bender/Sail Voile Canada.

Source: Sail Canada

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.