Canada wins 25th Canada’s Cup

Published on September 4th, 2021

Canada’s Cup 2021 is in the books, with Royal Canadian Yacht Club successfully defending over Youngstown Yacht Club (Youngstown, NY) on September 2-4 in Toronto, Ont. While the results show 6-0 for Canada, the racing in the 25th edition was much closer than the score indicates.

The performance of RCYC’s Team Defiant showed the benefit of a two boat program leading up to the Canada’s Cup. While the USA challenge with Zing sailed the past two seasons alone and focused on crew work, Defiant was able to focus on polishing their match racing skills, crew work and boat speed.

Although Zing was unable to put a point on the scoreboard, they proved to be a formidable challenger. As the team’s first opportunity to sail against another IC37 was race one on September 2, their learning curve was steep but still produced very close match racing.

As the racing progressed over three days, Zing became faster winning three of six starts and tested Defiant for much of those races. Amid defeat, Zing’s professionalism and sportsmanship was second to none.

There were many historical firsts in the 2021 Canada’s Cup; the first match race regatta in IC37s, the first opportunity for junior sailors to participate, the first time the boats were comprised of men and women crew, and the first time there were father daughter crew members on both boats.

During the summer of 2021, Team Defiant of the Royal Canadian Yacht Club left no stone unturned in their preparation for the event. Defiant engaged approximately 25 to 30 RCYC members and juniors to sail 4 to 5 days per week to concentrate on boat speed, crew work and match race strategy. Skipper Terry McLaughlin is well known and respected for his thoroughness and preparation, and it showed at this regatta.

The original vision for the Canada’s Cup was for matches to be held in 2020, 2022 and 2024. With the 2020 event rescheduled to 2021, the next event is only 12 months away. Following the awards ceremony, Bob Hesse the owner of Zing formally announced his intention to challenge again in 2022. The 2022 match is open to additional challengers and defenders.


Youngstown Yacht Club crew:
Owner: Robert Hesse, Skipper: Adam Burns, Crewmembers: Chris Doyle, Scott Walker, John Goller, Shannon Walter, Bridget Dedatio, Ben Doyle and Charlie Kegler.

Royal Canadian Yacht Club crew:
Owner: Paul L’Heureux, Skipper: Terry McLaughlin, Crewmembers: Lance Fraser, Sandy Andrews, John Millen, Andrew McTavish, Mariah Millen, Ingrid Merry, Scott Collinson, and Andrew Kenny.

The Canada’s Cup was first raced in 1896 when Royal Canadian Yacht Club and Lincoln Park Yacht Club (Chicago, IL) met for the inaugural race in Toledo, Ohio.

After 125 years of racing, the score now has 13 wins for the USA and 12 wins for Canada. The 25th edition was a rematch of the previous edition in 2016 when Canada beat USA in 8 Meters.

Event schedule:
Monday, August 30 – Boat and Sail Measurement
Tuesday, August 31 – Registration
Wednesday, September 1 – Opening Ceremonies
Thursday, September 2 – Racing
Friday, September 3 – Racing
Saturday, September 4 – Racing
Sunday, September 5 (if required) – Racing

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.