Visit Pensacola

Top ten set for eSailing World Champs

Published on October 20th, 2021

The nine-month qualifying season for the 2021 eSailing World Championship have narrowed the field to ten teams for the finals.

Four spots were awarded automatically through some of the top events in the season. The America’s Cup Champion Rocco Guerra (MCES rock) from Italy secured his spot early on in the year in March and the inaugural Olympic Virtual Series winner decided one spot that was taken by Tristan Peron (UOL asere) of France in June.

When the eSailing World Championship rankings ended in September, the top of the leader board Arthur Farley (VIT Arthur Farley) from Britain secured his seat at the final. The eSailGP Final on the October 15 was the last automatic qualification spot up for grabs which was snatched by Mike O’Donovan (Deja Vu) from GBR.

The last opportunity for the 747 players was in the eSailing World Championship PlayOffs on October 1-4 to compete for the remaining six places in the ten-player final, scheduled to take place live on November 6, 2021. The PlayOffs had been raced in the 49er in the virtual waters of San Francisco, the Nacra 17 in Sydney, and the J/70 in Rio de Janeiro.

Twenty-one countries were represented in the PlayOffs, and the 2021 Finalists include players from Portugal, Greece, and Japan for the first time.

The 2021 eSailing World Championship began on January 21 to win this year’s title and a prize of USD $10,000. Presented in partnership between World Sailing and digital sailing platform Virtual Regatta, this year has been the fourth season following the inaugural Championship in 2018.


Source: World Sailing

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.