Finally wind for J/70 World Championship

Published on October 22nd, 2022

Kilian Wagen (SUI) and his crew of Gregoire Siegwart, Luke Patience, David Hughes, and Celia Willison won the 2022 J/70 World Championship held October 18-22 in Monaco. After four days of no wind, the final day completed the requisite three races to confirm the title.

Their 3-1-10 in the fleet of 89 teams representing 23 nations presented unmatched consistency, finishing 22 points clear of Pierrik Devic (MON) in second with American Peter Duncan 27 points off the lead in third.

“We came here with one goal and we are delighted to have achieved that,” said Patience. “It’s a great team and we just conserved energy to give it our all, even though we were constantly nervous about our decisions on the water.”

Other winners were Tim Ryan (AUS) in the 12-boat One Pro Division and Nick Zeltner (SUI) among the 41 Corinthian teams.

Event detailsEntry listImagery

Results: CorinthianOne ProOpen

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.