Miami to Palm Beach Race

Published on December 2nd, 2022

The second event of the 2022-23 SORC Islands in the Stream had 21 boats on the 60-mile course from Miami to Palm Beach along southern Florida. All boats finished within the time limit of 1800, with conditions of 18 knots from the ENE with lumpy seas of 6+ feet.

Argo, Jason Carroll’s MOD70 trimaran, broke her own elapsed time record, finishing in 2:36:35 for an average of more than 24 knots. (Argo set the previous elapsed time record of 3:03:02 in the 2018 Wirth Munroe race).

Argo won the multihull class, the first-to-finish perpetual trophy, and her navigator Brian Thompson won the perpetual trophy for navigator of the first yacht to finish.

Callisto, Kate and Jim Murray’s Pac52, won First Overall perpetual and ORC A.

Leading Edge, Tom Sutton’s J 122, won ORC B.

Tom Bowler, skippering Rockstar, a C&C 115, won ORC C.

While not part of the SORC Islands in the Stream Series, seven boats competed concurrently on a 40-mile course from Fort Lauderdale to Palm Beach. George Collins’ Tripp 62 Chessie Racing was first to finish and first on corrected on this course.



2022-23 schedule:
• November 3, 2022 – Nassau Cup Ocean Race
• December 2, 2022 – Wirth M. Munroe Invitational Miami to Palm Beach Race
• January 4, 2023 – Ft. Lauderdale to Key West Race
• February 9, 2023 – Port Canaveral Race


comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.