Visit Pensacola

Nominations wanted for 2023 Cape Horn Hall of Fame

Published on March 25th, 2023

The International Association of Cape Horners (IACH) is calling for nominations to be included in the 2023 Cape Horn Hall of Fame to join the names of 28 famous sailors inaugurated last year at a ceremony held in Les Sables d’Olonne, France, the home of solo sailing.

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, Chairman of the independent Cape Horn Hall of Fame Selection Committee, says: “This year, we are looking for Cape Horners past and present who have made a significant contribution to the sport of sailing, either solo or leading a crew around the world’s most infamous Cape.”

His committee, which includes French veteran sailor Jean-Luc van den Heede (deputy-chairman), American navigator Stan Honey, and fellow circumnavigators Dee Caffari (UK) and Dilip Donde (India), will review each nomination and select the best 20 names for a vote by members of IACH to determine the final six to be inducted into the 2023 Cape Horn Hall of Fame.

For the Cape Horn Hall of Fame nomination form, click here. Submissions close on April 30, 2023. The induction ceremony for the 2023 Cape Horn Hall of Fame is planned take place in September in Les Sables d’Olonne, France.

“We are very pleased to have the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame as a permanent fixture in Les Sables d’Olonne,” says the City Mayor Yannick Moreau. “The Board of Honour pays tribute to these men and women who have shown such bravery and courage. It has also become a pilgrimage for recipients and their families to visit, building on our reputation and maritime importance as home for the Vendée Globe and Golden Globe solo round the world races.”

Ashley Manton, Chairman of the International Association of Cape Horners, adds “This is now an important event in the sailing calendar encouraging future generations to follow in the footsteps of their elders in setting new records in round the world sailing.”

Names already honored on the IACH Cape Horn Hall of Fame:
• Willem Schouten (1567-1625), Netherlands
• Jacob Le Maire (1585-1616), Belgium
• Vice Admiral Robert Fitzroy (1805-1865), England
• Capt. Vern Verner Björkfelt (1900-1982), Finland
• Capt. Thomas Carter (T.C) Fearon (1813 – 1869), USA
• Capt. Adolph Hauth, Germany
• Capt. Louis Allaire (1880-1949), France
• Alan Villiers (1903-1982), Australia
• Vito Dumas (1900-1965), Argentina
• Marcel Bardiaux (1910-1958), France
• Sir Francis Chichester (1901-1972), England
• Sir Alec Rose (1908-1991), England
• Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (1939-), England
• Bernard Moitessier (1925-1994), France
• Sir Chay Blyth (1940-), Scotland
• Ramon Carlin (1923-2016), Mexico
• Éric Tabarly (1931-1998), France
• Cornelis van Rietschoten (1926-2013), Netherlands
• Dame Naomi James (1949-), New Zealand
• Kay Cottee (1954-), Australia
• Jon Sanders (1939-), Australia
• Philippe Jeantot (1952-), France
• Titouan Lamazou (1955-), France
• Sir Peter Blake (1948-2001), New Zealand
• Dilip Donde (1967-), India
• Stan Honey (1955-), America
• Dee Caffari (1973-), England
• Jean-Luc Van Den Heede (1945-), France

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.