L30 World Championship

Published on October 6th, 2023

American Michael Norris won the 2023 L30 World Championship, held October 3-6 in Izola, Slovenia. Sixteen teams competed in the inaugural event, with Norris and his crew of Christopher Rast, Danielle Rast, Christina Norris, Anthony Norris, and Margherita Annis taking the title by one point over Hungarian Attila Bakonyi.

The L30 was initially introduced for the proposed shorthanded offshore event to be held at the Paris 2024 Olympics, but has since gained interest as a one design class association.

With nine countries represented, the four-day championship was predominantly sailed in light winds, except for the second day when a strong bora wind spiced up the racing. The race committee of the Sailing Club Burja held nine races, with the last one counting double. The overall winner was decided in the final race, where only a five-point difference separated the first and second-placed teams, Bakonyi (HUN) and Norris(USA).

The finale saw a remarkable turnaround, with the Americans finishing second while the Hungarians finished fifth, losing the championship title by a mere point due to the double scoring awarded in the final race. Peter Tenke (HUN) secured the bottom step of the podium, a position he held throughout the championship.

Event informationResults

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.