Appeal clarifies Mark-Room definition
Published on June 27th, 2025
Dave Perry, Chair of the US Sailing Appeals Committee, puts an end to many commonly debated scenarios at the marks:
The US Sailing Appeals Committee recently published an interpretation and application of the new definition Mark-Room in several common scenarios which are often debated. It is Appeal 130.
One scenario is at a port-hand windward or offset mark going onto a run. The question is: does mark-room include room to gybe onto port before leaving the mark astern? The answer is No. Another scenario is two port-tack boats, PL and PW, approaching a port-hand windward mark in the zone. The question is: does mark-room continue to “protect” PW after she passes head to wind? The answer is No.
Another scenario is two boats, A and B, rounding a leeward mark to begin a windward leg. A is clear ahead of B when she reaches the zone. B sails in between A and the mark. A luffs up to head to wind to “shut the door” causing B to touch the mark, breaking rule 16.1. The question is: does mark-room include luffing up to head to wind, in which case A is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) for breaking rule 16.1. The answer is No.
To read the complete document with diagrams, click here.