Browsing the "Bayview Mackinac Race" Tag


Saxton wins Tri Lake Challenge

August 16th, 2013

The coveted Barthel Trophy, one of many governed by the Yacht Racing Union Great Lakes (YRUGL), is awarded to the best finisher of all three of the Great Lakes featured long distance races. The three comprise the Bayview Mackinac, Chicago Mackinac and the ever tough Trans Superior. All three make up what the Yacht Racing


Racing to the Pink Pony Bar

July 31st, 2013

While the Chicago to Mackinac Race proved to be a nightmarish event with light winds, oppressive heat, and carnivorous flies, the Bayview to Mackinac Race (starting on July 20) was much more receptive to its participants. On the longer of the two courses (there is a 204nm and a 254nm) was Tim Lewin, who enjoyed


Bayview Mackinac Race

July 22nd, 2013

(July 22, 2013) – Closure has come to the Bayview Mackinac Race, which had 221 starters on July 20 with only 12 retirees. Among the overall winners were Tom Lewin’s J/120 Sledge Hammer on the 254nm Cove Island Course and Bill Alcott’s Farr 65 Equation on the 204nm Shore Course. – Event website


Three Stages of Lake Madness

July 21st, 2013

The Bayview Mackinac Race began on July 20, and it appears the route on Lake Huron between Detroit and Mackinac Island is treating the 225 boats much kinder than the Chicago Yacht Club Race to Mackinac Race did a week earlier. How bad was the Chi-Mac? Here’s an excerpt from a report by Ben Braden,


Changes for Bayview Mackinac Race

May 10th, 2013

The winner of the J.L. Hudson Trophy in this year’s running of the Bayview Yacht Club Mackinac Race will be decided differently than in years past. The 2013 winner of the division with the greatest number of boats registered in the race – which is July 20 – will win the trophy and the flag

Back to Top ↑