America’s Cup – the last 10 winners

Published on June 17th, 2013

This year’s America’s Cup takes place in San Francisco Bay, from September 7 to 21, with holders Oracle Team USA facing the best of three challengers: Emirates Team New Zealand (NZL), Luna Rossa (ITA) and Artemis (SWE). Here are details on the last 10 winners of sport’s oldest competition.

2010 Valencia, Spain

Challenger BMW Oracle Racing (USA) beat Alinghi (SUI) 2-0. After a long judicial battle, the 33rd “Cup” saw a relatively short (two regattas) clash between the forerunners of the current AC72 catamarans, the USA 17 trimaran (Godzilla) of Oracle and Alinghi’s twin-hull, both 30 metres (nearly 100 feet) long.

2007 Valencia, Spain
Defender Alinghi (SUI) beat Team New Zealand 5-2. The race was the last for the International America’s Cup Class — aesthetically pleasing but slow single-hull boats measuring 25 metres.

2003 Auckland, New Zealand
Challenger Alinghi (SUI) beat Team New Zealand (NZL) 5-0. The Swiss win their first America’s Cup, humiliating the Kiwis on home waters.

2000 Auckland, New Zealand

Defender Team New Zealand beat Prada (ITA) 5-0 in a decisive, flawless performance.

1995 San Diego, United State
Challenger Black Magic (NZL) teaches Young America (USA) a lesson, beating them 5-0.

1992 San Diego, United States
Defender America 3 (USA) defeated Il Moro di Venezia (ITA) 4-1 in the first edition using the International America’s Cup Class.

1988 San Diego, United States

The US catamaran Stars and Stripes beats the challenge by New Zealand monohull KZ1 without any difficulty 2-0 in an unequal, absurd contest. The result was a foregone conclusion even before the first regatta. The US catamaran, only 18 metres long and ultra-light, ran rings around the New Zealand boat, confirming the superiority of multi-hulls over single hulls.

1987 Fremantle, Australia
Challenger Stars and Stripes (USA) easily beats Kookaburra 3 (AUS) 4-0, proving to be the final edition for the 12 Meter Class

1983 Newport, Rhode Island (United States)
Challenger Australia II (AUS) beats Liberty (USA) 4-3 in a historic victory in the spiritual home of world yachting. The win, ending 132 years of US domination, was attributed to Australia’s winged keel that gave it a significant advantage in manoeuvrability.

1980 Newport, Rhode Island (United States)

Defender Freedom (USA) easily beat Australia (AUS) 4-1.

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.