Amadour wins 2014 Trophée Bailli de Suffren

Published on July 11th, 2014

The overall winner of the 2014 Trophée Bailli de Suffren, and the new holder of the “Sword of Admiral Satan” is the 1938 cutter Amadour.

After 134 hours of racing – across 600 miles of the Mediterranean, over three legs between Saint-Tropez and Malta – this year’s event saw Tom Van Der Bruggen’s Amadour triumph over last year’s winner Lelantina by the narrowest of margins.

With yachts racing in three classes, using the CIM rating system for classic yachts and points awarded for each leg, the final calculation was finely balanced and the difference between first and second was just 0.09 points – between 242.27 and 242.18. The closeness of the competition was also reflected in the elapsed times, with Amadour covering the course in a total of 133 hours 56 minutes and Lelantina less than 30 minutes behind.

Most of the 600 miles from Saint-Tropez have been to windward into a light to moderate south easterly, with the exception being a vigorous Mistral that blew the fleet into Sardinia’s Porto Rotondo at the end of leg one.

In the unique spirit of the Trophée Bailli de Suffren, however, the hardships at sea were amply compensated by the hospitality ashore, with each harbour providing a warm welcome and prize-giving dinner for each leg – culminating in tonight’s awards ceremony at the Malta Maritime Museum.


Amadour (MON77) to windward of Irina VII at the Saint-Tropez start. Photo credit Kurt Arrigo/Camper & Nicholsons.

The overall results over the three legs are as follows:
1. Amadour (242.27 points)
2. Lelantina (242.18)
3. Noryema (164.72)
4. Isis (161.52)
5. Hilaria (124.25)
6. Irina VII (83.10)
7. Sitting Bull (73.86)
8. Vistona (29.79)
9. Cin Cin (21.37)

Also competing in the Spirit of Tradition class, so not eligible for the overall “Sword of Admiral Satan” was Tioga of Hamburg, who was first to finish in all three legs.

Provisional dates for the next year’s Trophée Bailli de Suffren are Saturday 20 June to Wednesday 1 July 2015. The event website is

Top Photo: Kurt Arrigo/Camper & Nicholsons. 2013 winner Lelantina approaches the finish in Valletta, Malta.

comment banner

Tags: , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.