Schedule released for 2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup

Published on July 31st, 2014

The ISAF Sailing World Cup is the annual showcase circuit for Olympic sailing, and when it enters its seventh season in 2015, changes will be implemented to further heighten its stature.

Following the appointment in April 2014 of John Craig to the new position of Head of the ISAF Sailing World Cup, work has been done on the schedule and the invitation qualifying system.

The schedule kicks off in Melbourne, Australia in December 2014 before visiting Miami, USA in January 2015.

When the circuit begins its European segment, ISAF Sailing World Cup Hyères, France in April will be the first regatta to adopt the new 40 boat per event format (25 for the Skiff events), reinforcing the status of the ISAF Sailing World Cup as the premiere series for Olympic class sailors. The field will then move to the London 2012 Olympic waters, ISAF Sailing World Cup Weymouth in June.

The qualification system will be published in August detailing how those 40 boats will be selected. Qualification regattas in Europe are set to be Princess Sofia Trophy in Palma de Mallorca, Spain for Hyères, and the Delta Lloyd Regatta in Medemblik, Netherlands for Weymouth.

Following the Asian leg, the field will further narrowed, with only those competitors that fulfilled more stringent qualifying standards will be invited to Abu Dhabi, United Arab for the ISAF Sailing World Cup Final in November.

2015 ISAF Sailing World Cup
Melbourne – 7-14 December 2014
Miami – 25-31 January 2015
Hyères – April 2015
Weymouth – 8-19 June 2015
Asian Round – TBC
2015 Final
Abu Dhabi – November 2015

Source: ISAF media

comment banner


Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.