College season launches Singlehanded Nationals

Published on November 6th, 2014

The top 36 singlehanded college sailors competing in the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) will descend upon the Pacific Northwest for the 2014 College Singlehanded National Championship on November 8-9 out of Bellingham Yacht Club in Bellingham, Washington.

The Singlehanded Nationals is the first of five championships organized by the ICSA. Also in the fall is the Match Racing Nationals, which will be held November 14-16 in Oyster Bay, NY. The school season concludes in spring 2015 with the Women’s, Team Race, and Coed Nationals in Newport, RI.

Two singlehanded divisions, Laser Standard Full Rig (Men) and Laser Radial (Women), will each have 18 sailors who have qualified for the championship through their respective districts. The number of sailors representing each district is based on the size of the district. Here are the sailors who will compete at the Singlehanded Nationals:

Women’s Singlehanded Nationals – Radial
Mid-Atlantic: Mary Hall ’15, U.S. Naval Academy; Emma Ferris ’15, U.S. Naval Academy; Lola Bushnell ’18, Georgetown University; Chatherine Shanahan ’18, St. Mary’s College

Midwest: Alison Kent ’16, Univ. of Minnesota; Megan McMahon ’17, Univ. of Wisconsin

New England: Erika Reineke ’16, Boston College; Dana Rohde ’18, U.S. Coast Guard Academy; Lindsey Baab ’18, Brown University; Kelly McGlynn ’15, Brown University; Liz Dubovik ’15, Connecticut College; Rosalind Lesh ’16, MIT

Northwest: Eliza Dawson ’18, University of Washington

Pacific Coast: Sally Mace ’14, Stanford University; Simone Staff ’18, UC Santa Barbara

South Atlantic: Clerc Cooper ’15, College of Charleston; Rebekah Schiff ’16, College of Charleston

Southeast: Alexandra Payne ’15, Tulane University

Men’s Singlehanded Nationals – Laser
Mid-Atlantic: Nevin Snow ’16, Georgetown University; Brendan Shanahan ’17, George Washington Univ.; Addison Hackstaff ’18, U.S Naval Academy; Will Holz ’17, Fordham University

Midwest: James Harvey ’17, Washington University; Matthew Ripkey ’17, Univ. of Wisconsin; Nathan Jamieson ’17, Univ. of Wisconsin

New England: Avery Fanning ’16, U.S. Coast Guard Academy; Joseph Kiss ’17, Yale University; Malcolm Lamphere ’18, Yale University; Martim Anderson ’18, Roger Williams University

Northwest: Brian Hickman ’15, Oregon State University

Pacific Coast: Luke Muller ’18, Stanford; Kieran Chung ’15, Stanford

South Atlantic: Stefano Peschiera ’19, College of Charleston; Charles Rees ’16, College of Charleston; Reed Baldridge ’16, College of Charleston

Southeast: Trey Hartman ’15, Texas A&M Univ. Galveston

Event details:

comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.