Volvo Ocean Race: Auckland Crew List Updates

Published on March 12th, 2015

The Volvo Ocean Race teams have submitted their crew lists for the New Zealand Herald In-Port Race and for Leg 5 from Auckland, NZL to Itajaí, Brazil (6,776 nm). The In-Port Race is on March 14 and the Leg 5 start was planned for March 15, but has been delayed for at least 24 hours due to Tropical Cyclone Pam.

Here are some of the notable crew changes:

Dongfeng Race Team
Damian Foxall (IRL) has joined the team to add depth on the Southern Ocean leg. Damian has competed in four Volvo Ocean Races so far, racing with Dongfeng skipper Charles Caudrelier on board the winning Groupama sailing team last time. Additionally, navigator Pascal Bidegorry is back after sitting out on Leg 4. A late change was to replace Chinese crew Chen Jin Hao (Horace), who has not fully recovered from a back injury, with Liu Xue (Black).Also, onboard reporter Yann Riou (FRA) has returned after Sam Greenfield (USA) filled in on Legs 3 and 4. Details.

After skipper Iker Martínez, (ESP) sat out Legs 3 and 4 to concentrate on his 2016 Rio Olympics preparations, he returns for Leg 5. Stand-in skipper Xabi Fernández (ESP) hands back the reigns after a memorable Leg 4 triumph. Details.

Team Alvimedica
Stu Bannatyne (NZL) joins the team for this leg, replacing bowman/trimmer Seb Marsset (FRA). Bannatyne has six Volvo Ocean Races including three wins to his credit. Details.

Team Brunel
Laurent Pagès (FRA) broke two ribs during the stopover in Auckland and will be replaced by Dutch offshore sailor Dirk de Ridder, who has competed in the race three times, finishing second twice and winning on Illbruck Challenge. De Ridder was a member of Oracle Team USA when they won the 2010 America’s Cup, and was embroiled in the team’s cheating scandal during their 2013 defense. Details.

Team SCA
Sophie Ciszek (AUS) returns onboard, having missed the two legs due to a back injury. After two months of rehabilitation training, Sophie is now deemed fit to sail. Sara Hastreiter (USA), and OnBoard Reporter Anna-Lena Elled (SWE) also join the team. Details.

Complete lists: CLICK HERE

Background: The 2014-15 Volvo Ocean Race began in Alicante, Spain on Oct. 11 with the final finish on June 27 in Gothenburg, Sweden. Racing the new one design Volvo Ocean 65, seven teams will be scoring points in 9 offshore legs to determine the overall Volvo Ocean Race winner. Additionally, the teams will compete in 10 In-Port races at each stopover for a separate competition – the Volvo Ocean Race In-Port Series. Race website.



comment banner

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.