Laser U.S. Titles Decided in New Jersey

Published on July 24th, 2015

Brant Beach, NJ (July 24, 2015) – The final day at the Laser US Nationals closed out the championship with three more races. Robert Davis (CAN) continued his tear with a 2-1-3 to win the Full Rig (55 boats), Scott Rasmussen (USA) got human with a 21-3-12 but still won by 21 points in the Radial (127 boats), and Blaire McCarthy (USA) again won all three races to take the title by 9 points in the 4.7 (3 boats).

The Laser Class U.S. National Championship was also being used for the U.S. Singlehanded Sailing Championships with awards for competitors meeting the eligibility rules for:

• George D. O’Day Trophy to the overall highest placing eligible male in Laser Full Rig.
• Helen Willis Hanley Trophy to the overall highest placing eligible female in Laser Radial.
• US Sailing medals will be awarded to the top three positions in each fleet.

For the third time in four years, Clay Johnson (Point Pleasant, N.J.) won the George O’Day Trophy. He won this championship in 2013 and 2012.

Laser Full Rig – Top 3

1. Clay Johnson, TRYC/LEHYC, 27
2. Frederick Vranizan, Royal Vancouver YC/Seattle YC/CYC Seattle, 48
3. Malcolm Lamphere, LGYC/YCYC/CYC, 58

Christine Neville (Middletown, R.I.) made a return to her winning ways by capturing the Helen Wills Hanley Trophy. Neville also won this championship in 2011.

Laser Radial – Top 3
1. Christine Neville, Sail Newport/StFYC, 80
2. Lindsey Baab, St. Francis YC/San Francisco YC, 136
3. Talia Toland, Royal Vancouver YC/Seattle YC, 163

Laser Nationals websiteU.S. Singlehandeds websiteResults

comment banner

Tags: , , , ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your download by email.

  • Hidden
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.