Australians win Youth Match Racing World Championship

Published on September 19th, 2015

Swinoujscie, Poland (September 19, 2015) – In the Finals that pitted Sam Gilmour (AUS) against Joachim Aschenbrenner (DEN), Team Australia won the ISAF 2015 Youth Match Racing World Championship. The team consisted of Gilmour skippering, Adam Negri as mainsheet and tactician, Niall Morrow on jib and spinnaker trim and Cameron Seagreen as bowman.

With both the Finals and Petit Finals on the schedule today, there were a few concerns about accuracy of weather predictions as only 7 knots were expected. Thankfully there were 8-9 knots and the Race Committee used the primary race area in the channel.

The top four teams, Joachim Aschenbrenner (DEN), Sam Gilmour (AUS), Markus Ronnberg (FIN), and Nevin Snow (USA), assembled at the briefing this morning and picked their boats. Competing in the Petit Final – Match 1 were Ronnberg and Snow. Their match would be first team to two points wins third place leaving the other to fourth place. Aschenbrenner vs. Gilmour were Match 2 racing in the Final for first and second place and theirs would be first to three points wins.

Petit Final – Match 1 started first with Ronnberg vs. Snow. In the Qualifiers Snow finished second with 9 points and Ronnberg was fourth with 8 points. Both began by taking penalties at the start line for being over early but that didn’t hinder either team. Ronnberg held control of the match all the way around the course. Snow kept up and sailed well but never managed to get out from under Ronnberg. This continued in Match 2 making Team Finland 3rd overall and Team USA 4th.

Final – Match 2 Aschenbrenner vs. Gilmour was the second start of the day. Aschenbrenner was first in the Qualifiers with 10 points and Gilmour was third with 9 points. As in the Petit Final, the pre-start for the Final was tight and aggressive with both Aschenbrenner and Gilmour over the start early. Gilmour won Flight 1 and Flight 2.

Flight 3 ended abruptly at the top mark when Gilmour deliberately failed to give Aschenbrenner room at the mark, the boats made significant contact, and Aschenbrenner was not only squeezed into the mark but got tangled in it causing the boat to stop completely. Gilmour having already received two penalties in the pre-start and still having one outstanding, deliberate failure to follow the rules did not amuse the Umpires in the least so was given a double penalty and a black flag.

The scores for the Final – Match 2 were Aschenbrenner 1/4 and Gilmour 3/4 after Gilmour beat Aschenbrenner in Flight 4 giving Gilmour first overall and Aschenbrenner finishing in second position.

This regatta marks the final event for the Australian team in their three month tour of the USA and Europe. The team came away having wins at the Detroit Cup (USA) and Baltic Match Cup (Estonia), as well as winning the overall trophy for the US Grand Slam Series.

Final Results
1. Sam Gilmour (AUS)
2. Joachim Aschenbrenner (DEN)
3. Markus Ronnberg (FIN)
4. Nevin Snow (USA)
5. Robin Follin (FRA)
6. Annabel Vose (GBR)
7. Jelmer Van Beek (NED)
8. Jakob Klitte (SWE)
9. Valerio Galati (ITA)
10. Krzysztof Małecki (POL)
11. Felix Schrimper (GER)
12. Mischa Von Ruti (SUI)

Event WebsiteFacebook

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.