Eighty-three teams compete for Snipe World Title

Published on September 20th, 2015

Talamone, Italy (September 20, 2015) – The Snipe World Championship hosted by the Circolo della Vela Talamone will take place September 21-26 for 83 teams from 18 nations. The warning signal for Race 1 is scheduled for Monday 21 September at 1 p.m.

On the starting line: Argentina (7 teams), Belgium (6), Brazil (9), Columbia (1), Croatia (1), Denmark (1) Ecuador (2), Finland (1), France (2), Great Britain (1), Japan (7), Norway (2), Poland (3), Spain (12), Sweden (2), United States (9) and Uruguay (1). Italy is represented by 16 crews in the Snipe World Championship.

Front-runners for the 2015 Snipe World Champion tile include Augie Diaz (USA), two-time world champion, Luis Soubie (Argentina), Alexandre Tinoco (Brazil), Raul de Valenzuela and Jordi Triay (Spain). Among the outsiders, Italians Solerio-Lambertenghi, Poggi-Vanni and Argentinians Agustin Zabalua and Miguel Costa.

The Race Committee is formed by: Fabio Barrasso (President), Andrea Bimbi, Bruno Iazzetta, Giovanni Capitani, Alessandro Testa, Filippo Soffici and Fabio Andreuccetti. The International Jury is formed by: Tullio Giraldi (President ), Licio Bruno Marques, Sergey Kuzovov, Charles Perry and Marco Cimarosti. The SCIRA representatives are Riccardo Lobato and Gweneth Cook. The Chief Measurer is Antonio Espada.

The Race Committee shall attempt to complete 11 races. No more than 3 races shall be sailed per day. On the last day of the regatta, no warning signal will be made after 3.30 pm. Three races are required to be completed to constitute a series. When fewer than 6 races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores. When from 6 to 8 races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her worst score. When 9 or more races have been completed, a boat’s series score will be the total of her race scores excluding her two worst scores.

Prizes shall be awarded to the skipper and crew for the top 10 places. The Commodore Hub E. Isaacks perpetual trophy shall be awarded to the fleet of the winning skipper. The O’Leary Trophy shall be awarded to the crew winning the World Championship. The Earl Elms Perpetual Trophy shall be awarded to the winning skipper of the final race of the World Championship. Prizes will be presented to the best scorer of each day of races. A special prize drawing will take place during the Awards Ceremony. Only crews who are present at the Awards Ceremony will be entered into the prize drawing.

The Snipe Junior World Championship with the participation of 36 other crews from 11 nations finished last Friday. Antonio Lopez-Montoya and Gregory Belmonte Cuenca (ESP) are the 2015 Snipe Junior World Champions with 19 points. Second, Felipe Rondina- Luis Felipe Boani (BRA) with 21 points and third Michele Meotto-Alberto Cassandro (ITA) only one point behind.

Event websiteEntry list

Report by Event Media

Tags: ,

Back to Top ↑

Get Your Sailing News Fix!

Your daily or weekly download by email.

Subscribe - In popup

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

We’ll keep your information safe.